�� new old this that ��

2001-03-14.15:37:16

sink or swim

Twice now a wind chime __ has sounded an accidental melody
from the clouds __ to the rain.

the name escapes him,
but on this__gray__cold__drear__day__after June 98 degrees


the __________________________ cling...

____ Dring

Lwrang...


their porch
his tomato soup
__ It's steam
__ ascends to a heaven,
lower than you'd think


the __________________________ cling...

____ Dring

Lwrang...


is a morning song singing of his wishing

to have her...



I don�t know who this poem is about� it�s more part of a fiction work I�ve had going on for quite a while now.

Last night I had to go to a dinner party at the Poet Laureate of Providence�s home. It was an ok night, we didn�t end up eating until close to 10pm� It was mostly staff writers from the Mayor�s office, me, Ray (who also works at the Mayors office), and a French woman who barely spoke English. She did speak German quite well, but that didn�t quite help me because I can only speak Spanish (only a little now) and no German or French. Her boyfriend, a part time speech writer for the mayor, a full time student at Brown University, translated a lot.

I remember when I was in college living with 5 people from Puerto Rico. Puerto Rico is a very two caste society. You are either rich or poor from what I saw while I was there, and my roommates were all obviously rich. I used to know Spanish so well back then, today I can still swear quite well and probably survive on my own, but there wouldn�t be much stimulating conversation.

You have to immerse yourself in a language to learn it, sink or swim, fly or fall, walk or fall down� umm yeah sure� like I did when I was in college, I�d try so hard not to speak English around my roommates� like the writer guy told his French girlfriend, sink or swim� like writing � sink or swim� like this entry � end it�

sink or swim



�� new old this that ��
            














Since Feb 2001





Long time no update. - 12.19.09

Clinton or Obama? - 2007-10-04

Two workshop Providence paid gig - looking for instructor - 2007-10-03

Big brother - 2007-09-26

Favorites - 2007-08-30