�� new old this that ��

2001-03-21.03:59 p.m.

Tequila Sunrise Nasty

I�m feeling a little nasty right now. Nasty as in not well, not Janet Jackson nasty boy nasty, just nasty.

One of my oldest friends � Rob � was in a fraternity at WPI in Massachusetts. Damn engineers can party. I didn�t join a fraternity at my college. I came close, but because of grades I didn�t. I had a 1.7 gpa my first semester. I graduated with a 3.4 - now that�s hard to do if I do say so myself. Anyway, I didn�t pledge. Thank god.

Thank god because who knows what I�d be like if I kept the frat life up. Thank god I had someone else�s fraternity to party at as well.

Rob and I never talk anymore, there�s a good allegory to be told about working for your best friend, but that�s another time. Much angst and greater degree�s of jaded-ness came from that. Mostly my fault� but I digress. I digress often.

The fraternity. Sigma Pi or something like that holds theme parties with kegs and stuff. One of the parties� theme was �Tequila Sunrise Party�:

Queue the Jimmy Buffet music now, follow it up with white boy Reggae [that would be nothing but the Greatest Hits of Bob Marley CD intermixed with Maxi Priest�s �red red wine� and �many rivers to cross�] add in inflatable palm trees, black lights [because all fraternity houses had black lights in the basement back in 1991] then cover the floor in sand, leave your shoes somewhere safe [I�ll get to why later], add a whole lot of floral print clothing, drunk men, women avoiding most of the drunk men, a huge 5 foot iguana, and you have the ambiance pretty much down PAT.

If you can rig up a few cotton hammocks you will have the ambiance down exactly.

��esta bien mon?�

�bueno�

Now for those who don�t know, a tequila sunrise is two things. One being the sunrise you see while you are sitting on a beach in Mexico after drinking tequila all night. The other being a drink of Tequila, Orange Juice, and Grenadine. Add the tequila [as much as you can handle] to a glass of orange juice and then pour the grenadine in last so that the red of the grenadine contrasts with the orange of the orange juice so as to resemble to the inebriated mind � a sunrise.

Tequila Sunset would be a better name, because I�ve never known tequila to be a morning drink or for that matter for tequila to wake a person that much up. At least not personally.

Now keep in mind it took me a long time to learn my alcoholic limits�

So I�m drinking, dancing, drinking, smoozing, drinking, being ignored by sorority girls, drinking until I�ve lost count.

I was sitting on a couch, in a sand filled dark basement corner of a frat house. Alone. About to �re � present� about 13 tequila sunrises for the party-ers enjoyment. I don�t want to �expel� the sunrises in the middle of the floor. I didn�t think, check that, I KNEW I couldn�t make it to the bathroom. So� I decide it�s a good idea to start making new drinks for everyone [out of the contents of my stomach] by filling up the 20 or so small plastic cups that are all over the floor in front of my couch of tequila despair.

I ran out of cups.

So� I filled up the last cup and threw the contents under the couch I was sitting on. So� I filled up the cup again, and repeated the action, again and again and again until I was finished.

I then went to bed in my friends room three floors up and didn�t tell anyone what had happened.

They knew.

Rob�s fraternity brothers made him clean up my mess. at four in the morning. the sand was everywhere in that basement � except under the couch.

It was nasty.

or as Rob liked to put it: Tequila Sunrise Nasty



�� new old this that ��
            














Since Feb 2001





Long time no update. - 12.19.09

Clinton or Obama? - 2007-10-04

Two workshop Providence paid gig - looking for instructor - 2007-10-03

Big brother - 2007-09-26

Favorites - 2007-08-30