�� new old this that ��

2001-03-26.03:42 p.m.

CLONES

I�m walking w/ black boots, black pants, black button down shirt, silver nail polish & orange manic panic on top�

I look like a clove cigarette�

bobbing through the middle of Providence Water Fire Festival�

burning as bright as my hair this mile of flaming canal sculpture is attracting thousands of people who don�t live here & somehow this beer breathed married with children guy & I collide

Swaying in Versachi loafers he slurs �Watch where you�re going faggot. People like you should stay away from places with children There should be laws against you! What do they do, clone the queers in this city?�

"Why yes! I�ve been cloned, I�ve been made, made into two, they made another of me, they cloned me cloned me, so I could phone me, �hello how am I�, that�s right I�m fine!

I�ve been cloned, so when I�m dumb, I can punch me, right upside the head, with out that awkward move, I don�t eat my dinner alone, I�ll never clean again, that�s my job

I�ve been cloned, so I can take turns, walking through here, I can drink alone, get sloshed just like you & not worry, I play with my self, scrabble & Gin Rummy & I always win�

I've been cloned so I can date twins ~ Triplets? ~ TWINS ~ TRIPLETS! ~ wait, now I'll have 4 left feet ~ but when lead I follow ~ & wherever I go I'll have two to tango ~ so yeah, they made another of me ~ so I could dance with me!

I'll do the Lambada ~ But that is forbidden! ...So I'll break ~ dance, I'll Romance ~ Twins Again? ~ No Chance

unless I become the next:

New Kids on the Back Street Boys to Men N-Sync Lip Trick Daddy ACT!

I could be Milli

I could be Vanilli

(& NO ONE WILL EVER KNOW THE TRUTH)

Yea, I�ve been cloned, it�s kinda cool, but do I like my self? Do I like what I see when I see me? I think I do, how about you? What do you see? When you look in the mirror, what do you see?

Tell me you class-less middle-upper-class-ass-living-in-the-past

When�s the last time you changed your daily crass routine

Up in the morning, shit shower shave, work all day, then back home to the life / wife you haven�t wanted in years

When�s the last time you didn�t drink & drive / the last time you drank just one?

Missed Monday Night Football or even turned off the Television?

When�s the last time you sat in a huge field of grass & smoked it?

Played golf & didn�t write looser on the score card?

When�s the last time you didn�t spit hate with words like faggot?

Tell me,

When you look in the mirror, what do you see!"

This is Sage Francis and myself performing the dual voice spoken word version of this 'poem' at the Chicago National Poetry Slam in 1999

I remember when I performed this piece in Chicago in 1999. This was the first time I�d ever been on a national stage. It was a duet, actually a trio. Ed Fuqua was positioned rear stage with his own microphone. His only line is the �(& no one will ever know the truth)� line.

God, I was so scared. I could hardly remember the performance when I got off stage. The one clear moment was after Ed�s line when the entire place erupted and I had to wait a couple beats to get the poem going again � the crowd was just too loud � and since there�s a 3 minute time limit, I had to start performing over the crowd�s cheers.

I remember that much. I don�t even remember the scores (yes, they score these poetry slam things�)

So this crazy nuts so so written piece was my first exposure to the National Poetry Slam Scene. Ahh, nostalgia.

Yep, that's good ole Morley Shafer

Oh and Morley Shafer - of 60 Minutes, Marc Smith - the Founder of Poetry Slam - and a TV camera crew (not shown) were in the audience too. "Pressure?" "What pressure?"



�� new old this that ��
            














Since Feb 2001





Long time no update. - 12.19.09

Clinton or Obama? - 2007-10-04

Two workshop Providence paid gig - looking for instructor - 2007-10-03

Big brother - 2007-09-26

Favorites - 2007-08-30