�� new old this that ��

2001-03-27.11:09 a.m.

Cakes, planes, trains and why the hell am I doing this?

Every once in a while I wake up singing a song. Well, not a fully voiced song, but I wake up, feel fine, and find myself mumbling a song as I walk to the shower.

This morning it was �Going the Distance� by Cake.

It�s still stuck in my head. �He�s going the distance, he�s going for speed, but she�s all alone all alone in her time of need�� That�s one of the lines I keep saying. Then the �ba dam ba dam ba dam ba dam ba da da� part. �Oh yeah� Oh yeah�.�

? WHY ?

I don�t remember dreaming of Cake� I wasn�t hungry�

I did dream that I got a huge sliver in my finger � not a sliver really, but a stick or rather a square dowel stuck in the knuckle nearest my index finger�s fingernail. The stick was as big as my finger and I was walking around showing people.

�Doesn�t that hurt?�

�Nah, it�s just a sliver�

�That�s no sliver, you�re gonna have to go to the hospital!�

�Nah, it�s just a sliver� See�

At which point I pull the sliver out of my finger and watch the entire tip of my finger fall off and land on a table.

�Anyone have some Ice, I�m going to have to go to the hospital� and FIND MY FINGER!�

It was at this point that I woke up and realized Jen was still awake � washing the dishes � at 4am � 4 in the morning am.

Am I the only one that finds this strange?



I was supposed to go out to dinner with one of my friends from NYC Wednesday night, then sleep on her couch so we could catch the plane together on Thursday to Chicago, but she emailed me last night and said in the email we were meeting for a quick lunch and then were going to catch the plane for 3:35 pm. Not a lot of time there. So much for Sushi.

I know she�s been taking a lot of time off from work and probably needs to work the extra � day, etc� but no explanation as to why the change in plans � no question if I would mind? No consideration that the reason I wanted to come down on Wednesday was because I didn�t want to get up at 5:30 am the day I have to fly to meet her down in NYC to take a plane to Chicago so I can then hustle my ass to the Mad Bar club to perform at like 8pm without a damn rest all day?

But you see, I understand it�s not all about me. However, I would not have agreed to this madness had I known or understood that I was going down on Thursday and not Wednesday - actually I would have made slightly different plans and just stayed with someone else.

It�s official, Chicago might just suck. Or I may have a good time dispite myself.



�� new old this that ��
            














Since Feb 2001





Long time no update. - 12.19.09

Clinton or Obama? - 2007-10-04

Two workshop Providence paid gig - looking for instructor - 2007-10-03

Big brother - 2007-09-26

Favorites - 2007-08-30