�� new old this that ��

2001-04-02.2:42 p.m.

a letter unsent - Tuesday, August 03, 1999 5:05:04 PM

Dear Marty, Andy and Heather,

I should have told you a few things while you were out here, Dave Blank tends to dominate conversations. It takes me a very long time to open up to people. I am too shy for someone who performs. You really could have eaten as much as you wanted from the fridge. The cat tends to be a pain, the rat tends to be noisy (when she woke me up the other night, I decided to move her)

I should have told you to listen outside the window at 5 am - hear the city waking. Notice Julia a woman across the street who works third shift pulling up before the city the windows behind her glow red Maudlin red, hearth and fire kiln red it's from the television and the fish tank just inside but it's pretty non-the-less

little bubbles skip up the glass

I should have told you to listen to our sound of constant twilight just outside the window evening hushing into distant highways & breeze a car alarm

side street footfalls mixed with engine, belt, and lifter nock a dog barking

a door shutting engines bodiless rushing away all distance all a gentle soothing humming standing at the end of the driveway You can see

the capital It's white but looks gray at night Lit by lights illuminating the dome

It reminds me of Washington My mother lived near there, but I've never been

I should have told you more

that you can hear foot steps on the stairs when they're really people a floor above tricks of sound on old wood old houses & somehow my floor is bowing up it reminds me of old converted Worcester Mills the oil of 50 years of hard work / honest work sanded and varnished just enough to leave enough character for office workers to admire or poets to notice

That gently like water cracking stone, you changed people

That roaring like a riot surging, you impressed people

That simply, you'll be missed

Yes, I should have told you more�



Yours in Providence,



John Powers



�� new old this that ��
            














Since Feb 2001





Long time no update. - 12.19.09

Clinton or Obama? - 2007-10-04

Two workshop Providence paid gig - looking for instructor - 2007-10-03

Big brother - 2007-09-26

Favorites - 2007-08-30