�� new old this that ��

2001-04-04.3:53 p.m.

Dumbass

The reason I refer to myself as a dumbass so often is because of an office joke � that I�m sort of the butt of.

The office has this new phone system that has voice recognition. You speak the full name of the person you want to reach and it connects you.

If you dial 5050 and say �Weird Al Yankovitch�

the phone system will speak back to you �press one to be connected to Weird Al Yankovitch� or �That person does not exist, press five to try again or zero for an operator blah blah blah� if it can�t figure out what you said.

Sometimes it gets� confused

You might say �Fred Flintstone� and you�ll hear that it wants to connect you to Marilyn Manson.

Well at my company if you speak into the phone system and the word �Dumbass� flows from your lips, the phone system will speak back to you:

�John Powers�

Yep, the office telephony system thinks I�m a dumbass.

A few of my friends tried to tease me about it, but I screwed them all up by adopting the name with zeal. When I email these people at work, I sign it Dumbass� or just agree and smile and say, �yep, I�m a dumbass, look who I�m talking to��

They don�t call me Dumbass anymore, but I call myself that as much as I can�

because I�m just funny like that:

like a Dumbass.



�� new old this that ��
            














Since Feb 2001





Long time no update. - 12.19.09

Clinton or Obama? - 2007-10-04

Two workshop Providence paid gig - looking for instructor - 2007-10-03

Big brother - 2007-09-26

Favorites - 2007-08-30