�� new old this that ��

2001-04-06.10:04 a.m.

Give me Chocolate or you swim with the fishes� etc

Ok so there�s this lady I work with who is an extortionist.

Yep. An extortionist. I only stutter when reeeealy drunk and I�m not drunk or stuttering � she�s an extortionist.

Every new employee that�s hired gets greeted by Mary.

�Hi how ya doing? Excited to be working here? Oh and all new employees who start are required to give me chocolates.�

�OK, sure. No Problem�

�Oh and if you don�t I�m going to harass you until you do.�

�I said I�d bring in the Chocolates.�

�Just making sure��

Extortion.

Now when I started working here in �98 I didn�t cave. No chocolates for Mary from me bucko. Eventually she forgot about me and I went on with my slacking at work.

Yesterday as I was leaving I got involved in a conversation in the elevator with a new person and a woman named Kristin about the whole chocolate thing. I said �oh I never gave her chocolate�� Kristin said she didn�t either.

Guess what. Kristin told Mary - who sits across from her � about my non compliance.

Yep, ratted out. Now I�m gonna be on edge for the next few weeks waiting for the hit. Yeah, she�s going to take a hit out on me � and execute it herself.

You know how?

By singing. Yep, she sings happy birthday to everyone here who�s worked less than 5 years � on their birthday. She sings horribly. On purpose.

I didn�t give in to her devious extortive ways, so any day now I expect to be getting Happy 29 years and 87 days Birth Day songs.

It�s going to happen � trust me.

I�m not giving in I tell you.

Even though she's already �paid me a friendly visit.�

Kristin is going to get some heck from me � as soon as I see her � it�s gonna be heck!



Last night was the slam. I didn�t eat dinner until afterwards, I get free beer during, so this morning I am tired. Achy and dehydrated, but not hung over. I made sure to stop drinking soon enough � as soon as I saw a horse trot across the clubs front windows � but I stopped. Water and food afterwards took care of the hangover, but still I�m tired.

Running the slam does that to me. I spend 3 hours running around � not sitting down � stressing while drinking Bass.

Alexia won. Kareem Cains came in second. Gary dropped his piece and would have come in second if he didn�t.

BAD GARY HOARE! VERY VERY BAD GARY HOARE!

Well it�s not like I�ve ever done that, so there�s no possible way I can relate.

BAD GARY HOARE!

Oh, only two people I work with showed up, so I survived. Damnit, now I have Cake stuck in my head. What is it with that band?!?



Things seem better between Jen and I this week. It�s a good thing I guess. A good thing� because she and I get along really well. I just wonder about the future...



Time for coffee. Lots of coffee.



�� new old this that ��
            














Since Feb 2001





Long time no update. - 12.19.09

Clinton or Obama? - 2007-10-04

Two workshop Providence paid gig - looking for instructor - 2007-10-03

Big brother - 2007-09-26

Favorites - 2007-08-30