�� new old this that ��

2001-04-08.12:55 p.m.

Quarters

Some of you may remember that I almost went Greek in College, but decided to smack a little blue ball around a racquetball court for four years instead and I still had my fill of Frat parties because I�d go out of town and be a pain in the ass to my friends who actually went through weeks of hazing to be able to drink in basements and not get lucky with sorority girls and clean up after me when I came to visit.

Another thing I learned in College was the Drinking Game. Especially Quarters and all it�s variants.

The game of Quarters for those who may not know, involves bouncing a quarter off of a table into a shot glass. You get the quarter in � you make someone drink. You get it in two times in a row, you make someone drink twice. You get it in three times in a row, you get to make a rule � such as 'everyone has to say �johnpowers is my love child� before they shoot the quarter�' stuff like that. You can play speed quarters � where you have two shot glasses on the table at once - once you get the quarter in the glass you pass it to the left and if you end up having a shot glass passed to you while you already have one � then you have to drink a whole lot of something� There�s other ways to play, but that�s the gist.

With that in mind, I went to a party last night � a really beautiful place � loft apartments in an old converted mill.

We got there a fashionable � hour late and found that 1 of the people who was throwing the party wasn�t even there, only two people were there besides us 3 and that I accidentally forgot to go to the bank and we�d have to leave for a while.

So we drove around a bit, went back to Dave�s house so he could pick up some CDs and then went back to the party for about 9:45� Almost 2 hours late. There still wasn�t anyone else there.

Eventually after another hour a few people trickle in and then a girl shows up and says:

�I hope you don�t mind, but I brought a few people with me�

The door opened and for 10 minutes a steady procession of people shuffled through the door. Frat people. 45 Frat people.

NOW WE HAD A PARTY!

So, they had 2 kegs and Vodka Jell-O Shots � sell out techno (read this as Moby) and a butt load of frat boys and cute women. Jen, Dave and myself stood there. Now I�m old compared to the college kids, Jen is not all that comfortable in situations like this, and Dave looks like a tattooed skin head � well, because he�s tattooed and shaved bald. Dave is a big man. But he�s also a Taoist Jew - so he only hurts people when they deserve it.

Yes - we stood around a lot�

Until I heard the magic words of:

�Anyone know how to play quarters?�

I proceeded to kick some major quarter ass. Poor frat boys. At first they were saying Wow at my abilities, then they were muttering bastard at my skill, then they had to quit or pass out because of my prowess.

Well maybe not that bad, but I did have fun and I did kick some ass.



�� new old this that ��
            














Since Feb 2001





Long time no update. - 12.19.09

Clinton or Obama? - 2007-10-04

Two workshop Providence paid gig - looking for instructor - 2007-10-03

Big brother - 2007-09-26

Favorites - 2007-08-30