�� new old this that ��

2001-04-19.2:13 p.m.

Organs

I have to renew my license at the RI DMV - that's the Rhode Island Department of Motor Vechicles and I think I finally found what I want my tattoo to say:

*Organ
Donor*


Yep. If I have a tattoo that just says organ donor - then there will be no question that when I die, I want every last bit of me recycled.

Why? Because it's the right thing to do. What right do I have to deny other's the right to live by letting so many useful parts of me decay in a box in the ground?

Actually, I'd like to be cremated - have my ashes scattered at a place I love - atop of Crow Hill in Leominster MA - and let it be known that if anyone would like a small part of Crow Hill.  Someday I'll remember to take a picture from the topto pay their respects, they should hike up to the tallest of the rocks - look out at the fields of green the dark streams it's cigar lake to your left and just stand there in deep breath.

I'd like that.

Still, am I going to be any worse off if there are a lot less ashes to scatter. Will a dust plume carried on the wind � it's potential size mean any less? No� No it won't.

This country needs more organs to save more lives - and there are never enough donors. Some states are even against shipping donor organs across their borders to patients who need them more. States rights verses Federal again... there are financial barriers in access to transplants too.

In 1999 there were 22,000 transplant operations performed vs 72,000 people on waiting lists � over 3 to 1 - meaning 2 out of 3 people die from not getting a transplant.

disgusting

"Poor people don't donate their organs at the same rate as the rich - many without health insurance know that the rich get transplants the poor get to die. If we want more organs available for transplant, the rich and the poor need the same chance to get a transplant.

Treat organ donation as expected not heroic. Thompson and President Bush should appear on national television with every governor and member of Congress. Every one of them should fill out a donor card. And each should do it simply because it is the right thing to do. Shortly thereafter, every high school principal, religious leader, CEO of a major company and media celebrity should do the exact same thing on the exact same day"
- Arthur Caplan, Ph.D.

Marketing. It's all about having the balls to market or advertise something that is right AS being the right thing to do.

We as a post industrial information age people should consider organ donation as being a principal as plainly simple as not murdering people.

If we don't consider murdering people as acceptable, then why should we consider denying people a continued life as any less acceptable?

"I don't know why, you tell me..."

Now if I could just figure out how to make *Organ Donor* look cool yet easily noticeable on my left ass cheek.



�� new old this that ��
            














Since Feb 2001





Long time no update. - 12.19.09

Clinton or Obama? - 2007-10-04

Two workshop Providence paid gig - looking for instructor - 2007-10-03

Big brother - 2007-09-26

Favorites - 2007-08-30