�� new old this that ��

2001-04-26.4:59 p.m.

do not want to be here

I don�t want to be here today, but I have a taste for a Big Mac. A Big Mac and fries.

The last time I ate fast food � besides delivered Domino�s � was months ago on a trip where I drove to NYC instead of taking the train. I always stop at one of two McDonalds � rest areas along the highway � not Gary Hoare rest stops , but rest areas I should say.

Very few people will know what I am referring to in the above link. It is a reference to a very good poem of his� click through his site long enough and you�ll figure it out.

I don�t want to be here, the canal Japanese Maples have flowered and are leafing out already. Acer palmatum - my absolute favorite genus of plant.

don�t want to be here, I have a feeling my deck chairs are gonna take another hit today, the Providence population of 175,000 combines the small town and larger city problems. My girlfriends car was broken into last Saturday night � my Jeep�s been broken into so many times I don�t even lock it. The drug addicts stole her CD wallet but thankfully they did little damage to her car. Everything I ever lost from my Jeep when it was stolen was due to my own stupidity. A leather jacket, in dash CD stereo (I neglected to remove the face plate,) every piece of change � including the pennies, a wool coat, a brief case given to me by my mother for Graduation from College full of stage audio cables, a bottle of cologne� every item was stolen separately since I moved here in June of 1998. I got careless, forgot about something in there long enough and poof � gone. My stupidity.

I like my back yard. I have a canal running through it � walled in with granite stones � not slabs� the ducks, birds, raccoons, possums, bats at dusk, muskrats, night time big ass rats, the occasional feral cat� I like the wildlife I see from my river chair, even if it�s not wild. The falls 75 feet to the right of my door makes a soothing afternoon � after work � 2pm on a Saturday� I don�t spend much money during the week, so the convenience of the city doesn�t appeal to me much, I like the nature that insists on living here � it�s a fraction of what I grew up with � just a reminder, I hate the annoying crime, I like the 13 minute walk from my apartment door to my desk at work, I�m happy enough. I miss Dudley Massachusetts daily. I miss Bean my old Corgi and Labrador mix, she�d be miserable here. She�s better off, but am I?

I don�t want to be here,I�d like to be working outside again. As I used to� And that is Eric's perfect moment. The gentle thumping of a diesel engine on a black night on a black sea surrounded by black mountains. With golden dolphins leaping out of the black sea in rings of bright green, and then disappearing with splashes of that same green. You see poetry exists everywhere� Grouse is one of my newer favorite diary�s. I�ve read every entry of his, and that is unusual for me. Go head, read him. He own�s a SUV and a Pickup, but unlike the majority of people in Rhode Island, he actually needs them. Yes, vehicles being used for the purpose they were intended � not just to be used by consumers wasting more than their share of the earth�s natural resources � only because they have the money to. Go ahead, read him.

It�s such a nice day out. I don�t want to�

Soon it will be time for me to move the plants to the patio. They really like the humidity that the canal provides and they especially like getting almost daily drinks � the water pouring out of their pot holes� A few of them had bad winters because of Taylor my cat, but they�ll live. I don�t understand his fascination with the Aloe plants. I really don�t.

My plants at work had a good winter, even my Christmas and Easter Cactus bloomed multiple times, but still its time to rotate them back home. If you want to keep office plants healthy, you should rotate them with other plants from home � especially in May. Low temperate and Tropical plants � most of what house plants are � do the majority of their growing in New England Junes.

It�s too hot to be here, the computer room of my division is about 50 feet away from me. The chiller for the cooling system broke. This means the door is open, huge fans are trying to cool that huge room off and thus the entire office floor is hot. Very hot� very loud. Very hot and loud. If I were at home right now, I�d be close to naked� and still hot.

I can�t believe it�s 4:59pm already. Pretty soon� in 1 minute� I�m not going to be here.



�� new old this that ��
            














Since Feb 2001





Long time no update. - 12.19.09

Clinton or Obama? - 2007-10-04

Two workshop Providence paid gig - looking for instructor - 2007-10-03

Big brother - 2007-09-26

Favorites - 2007-08-30