�� new old this that ��

2001-04-27.3:05 p.m.

�Karma is a hippies song�

I sat with the Old Man atop a rocky mountain gazing across the land he held all the trees the streams a horizon of green / in his hands

�when you�re young only the ignorant die�

jump!
flap Iccarus wings
become one with the sun
& rise the next day

I know where you�re going
I�ve seen where you�ve been
you�re destined to crash and fall
until you see the rhythms flowing within

�Listen to my story son,�

I walked beneath ancient midnight
sunlight
reflecting off a new moon
as shadows obscured my way
I closed my eyes and focused
dilated pupils
on the footsteps
beneath my weight�
not once did I fall
but I missed meeting my brother
because it took me seventeen years to go home

as a child I splashed in the sea water
of Monterey Bay
Junior high History showed
I was causing Tsunamis in Japan

at 25, I waved away a beggar prostrate / on a steam grate
as Sierra Leone guerillas amputated the hands / lips
of another teacher
all in the name of rebellion
a butterfly flapped wings
winking iridescent eyes
and a tree fell in Kansas�

�everyone heard it�
when a fourth grade teacher called her student / stupid
and five years later the freshman shot his principal

I cursed below my breath
as a woman drove 55 in the fast lane
so a man 2000 miles away cracked a chair across his wife�s back,
11 years later their daughter threw my words back at me
in the shape of a cup
the bruise it left was crescent
red then purple then green

I ignored a poets words
and false prophets lit up the morning Ugandan sky�

�an old book told me
only when all roads close before you will a new path show you the way�

& I saw the way
I know the way
the way is to enjoy today
the day is the journey
the journey is now
now is all that matters
but the world is not chaos

so I kiss her lips & Ethiopia flares

I slip a hand across her back & 6 fire fighters burn

I drop our clothes to the floor & a hand gun rings out

as I plunge two fingers inside her / the earth warms a degree

I hold a nipple between clenched teeth & a death row mourns

as we lay sleeping amid the sweet scent of sex / tiny earthquakes rumble between us

The World is not Chaos Chaos Chaos

in the dark I placed copper pennies upon her eye lids

as I cried:

�Momma,
Sweet Momma,
Bury my guns in the ground��



�� new old this that ��
            














Since Feb 2001





Long time no update. - 12.19.09

Clinton or Obama? - 2007-10-04

Two workshop Providence paid gig - looking for instructor - 2007-10-03

Big brother - 2007-09-26

Favorites - 2007-08-30