�� new old this that ��

2001-05-05.10:37 a.m.

rebreathing

In 1998, 4,406 people drowned - including 1,003 young children. In 1992, the U.S. Coast Guard received reports of 6,000 crashes involving recreational boats that resulted in 3,700 injuries and 816 deaths.

In 1998, males comprised 81% of people who drowned in the United States.

Most children drown in swimming pools. Between 60-90% of drownings among children aged 0-4 years occur in residential pools, but I�m not a child now am I?

Alcohol factors in about 50% of drownings among adolescent boys. 25% to 50% in water recreation deaths among adults.

The number of people drowned per 100,000 persons (1996) in each of these 10 states � ranks the highest in the US: Alaska 7.41, Mississippi 3.47, Louisiana 3.03, Idaho 2.90, Florida 2.64, Alabama 2.60, Arkansas 2.53, Hawaii 2.53, South Carolina 2.49, Oregon 2.38. The United States in total has 1.65 people drown per 100,000.

Where�s Rhode Island? Where do I fit in?

and let me tell you, I cared about my legal blood alcohol level limit for water recreation activities

listened to those public service announcements about the danger of combining alcohol with water recreation blaring between segments of the after school specials of my youth

read all of the advertisements that said using alcohol while boating will get you laid � and called them bullshit

passed up beers and margaritas at Scarborough and Misquamicut Beach and didn�t get laid because of it.

I�ve watched the children at the pool side � just as I was watched even after I learned to swim.

And I did not read, play cards, talk on the phone, mow the lawn, swim alone, eat steak, stick my head in 5-gallon industrial buckets, swill funnels of Coors Lite, chew gum, smoke, use water wings, or dive in the shallow end while at the pool.

I learned CPR and I still know how to bring you back.

I knew the local weather, I watched the thunderstorms the strong winds I stayed in between buoys and made sure to keep an eye on the lifeguard keeping an eye on me.

My Sun Fish had life jackets. I gave strong currents a wide berth. I was never far from the shore.

I did all of this and more�

�and now I need to know how I could find myself drowning in my own skin?

Can someone tell me where all this water is coming from?



�� new old this that ��
            














Since Feb 2001





Long time no update. - 12.19.09

Clinton or Obama? - 2007-10-04

Two workshop Providence paid gig - looking for instructor - 2007-10-03

Big brother - 2007-09-26

Favorites - 2007-08-30