�� new old this that ��

2001-05-17.10:16 a.m.

the next entry might be better

So last night I accomplished nothing with a social or household redeeming value. Nada.

It's not that I didn�t try. I left messages for people � sent a few emails � smoke signals from my back porch� stuff like that. No one called me back � besides telemarketers and wrong numbers for the Gas Company.

I did add 320 diary rings to my site. Go to the That link, then click on Rings then pick a letter of the alphabet.

�yes, I lost my mind�

But while I added 320 rings to my site, I didn�t actually �JOIN� 320 rings. At first I thought I would add them to poke fun at those who join a hundred rings and then bury them on some page. You know the diarys I�m talking about � the ones that when you find the page you have to step back from the page because it looks like a plane train and car wreck all at once� Those diarys.

BUT � it didn�t work out so well. I couldn�t do it. I couldn�t make everything look that horrible, so I got organized.

Alphabetically.

Two hours of coding later, I was finished and I had 320 rings listed on my site.

I felt good.

Accomplished.

Accomplished like a dweeb.

I had come full circle and was once again a geeky dork for doing something so pointless � something that no one would ever see the brilliant satire in � besides me and those I pointed it out to.

Those I pointed it out to would then look at me gently nodding muttering:

�suuuuuure johnpowers� suuuuuuure�

So after that I decided to join as many rings as I could and just let the complaints start rolling in from all the anal retentive ring masters out there.

To be honest and forthright, I didn�t join any rings that I didn�t particularly agree with � such as the conservative ring, or the Sigma Phi Epsilon Fraternity Members of 1995 Ring�

But I did �accidentally� join rings such as the �German� ring. To think the owner got mad and �didn�t like my attitude� because I joined so many rings and didn�t even speak German.

Sheesh!

The Ani Difranco ring owner wouldn�t let me join because I added the ring code BEFORE I was accepted into it. �Somehow I don�t think the Righteous Babe would approve of such bureaucracy in a fan ring for her. Ani interjects, �not very righteous msophelia, not very righteous at all�

�Thanks Ani, glad you got my back�



My friend Bill MacMillan actually booked Ani Difranco at a small coffee shop called Koffee Kingdom in Worcester Massachusetts around 1990. The place was packed for her show and I�m told she did put on a great show and damn I should go hang out with Bill real soon because I�ve forgotten most of this story, BUT he did get to deal with her and I do remember him saying she was short. and nice. I think they even passed the hat to pay her extra�



I brought CDs into work today. Huzzah! It bothers me that �huzzah� is an actual word recognized by spell check. What does it mean exactly? I never saw this word in my life until this year. I am either old and behind the times again or on the bleeding edge of coolness and hipness (which is not a word.) I think I�m old. Someone let me know� OK?

Ahh the CDs. Yes, I purchased a new CD yesterday and forgot it in my coat pocket as soon as I came home and was muckled by the cat. Unknown Road by Pennywise. I hope it doesn�t suck.

I also have Bomb The Womb by Hugh Brown Shu, It's a slippery slope by Spalding Gray, The Past Didn�t Go Anywhere by Utah Philips and Ani Difranco, and Taylor Mali�s Poems from the Like Free Zone.

It's a mostly spoken word day.



Oh, the text message feature of the site is working again. It SHOULD only let you send me one text message a day. I fixed it last night after I was high on the crystal meth I smoked in the woods and had carple tunnel from joining 4,000 diary rings, so it may only let you send me 1 message EVER. But I�ll be testing it tonight so don�t freak out or anything.



Oh, and if you�re one of the many diary rings nazzis out there (fyi, the preceeding comment was not directed at the German Ring owner) and you�ve read this far� Welcome and remember that those who take themselves too seriously are often not taken anywhere � like to bed by the ones they have the hots for�

�Bad Diary Ring Nazzi! Very Very Very Bad! No spooning for you!�



�� new old this that ��
            














Since Feb 2001





Long time no update. - 12.19.09

Clinton or Obama? - 2007-10-04

Two workshop Providence paid gig - looking for instructor - 2007-10-03

Big brother - 2007-09-26

Favorites - 2007-08-30