�� new old this that ��

2001-06-04.4:03 p.m.

A Warning on Vocabulary

I�ve been in meetings all day at work.

That�s what a lot of people do in business � from pseudo techno code crunchers like me to the management types.

In one meeting a man used the word Caveat.

He said, �Yes, but there�s a Caveat to that code standard.�

I wrote it down in my notebook because I knew what would happen - this kind of thing happens all the time.

In the next hour and a half beneath the word Caveat in my notebook, I had 8 tick marks.

Yes, from that one utterance of the word, it was used 8 more times by 5 different people.

I�m not joking.

After that, I didn�t speak in the meeting until I could use the word Caveat � but when I had my chance, I said �Yes, but there an Exception to that.� and I stressed the word Exception�

after I spoke no one was using the word Caveat anymore�

because you see, they were all using the word wrong, because the first guy sounded like he knew what he was talking about � he spoke aggressively and forcefully and then everyone else wanted to sound aggressive and forceful too,

because that�s how you get raises

unless your boss was an English major � like mine was - who just looked at me and smiled after my - at best - inconsequential contribution

and I guess that would be the real Caveat: to know what you are saying especially when you think it sounds good,

oh, and to know the College Major of your boss.



� Today�s Headlines � was posted previously today�



�� new old this that ��
            














Since Feb 2001





Long time no update. - 12.19.09

Clinton or Obama? - 2007-10-04

Two workshop Providence paid gig - looking for instructor - 2007-10-03

Big brother - 2007-09-26

Favorites - 2007-08-30