�� new old this that ��

2001-06-07.2:58 p.m.

Poetry Slam Night

Every once in a while I treat myself to an Italian sausage or two at the grill trailer that parks down the street from my building.

So today while I was at that grill trailer, a guy who looked like Johnny Cochran walked up with two assistants / colleagues,

the grill man say's "What'll it be Mr. Cochran?"

"Two dogs today, Fred"

So it was Johnny Cochran - you know... the lawyer from the OJ Simpson trial.

I smiled and said hello, he smiled and said hello, and then I left.

So... My sausages were very tasty, Johnny Cochran eats hot dogs, The City of Providence is one strange place to live, this is the second entry I've written today, and if you want to know more about why Mr. Cochran is in my city today, you can read about it here.

After today the link probably wont bring you directly to the story.

Why am I saying 'today' so much today?

AHHHH!



Hey, if you haven�t noticed yet - you can choose between 8 layouts now. Just go to the bottom of the page, choose one, and click change style. It remembers your choice too.

Here are the choices:

� Classic - My traditional red text on a black background.

� Uncle Bobish - My tribute to a daily read. It�s a bigger font for all you people who don�t like to squint.

� Perceptionsish - it�s very reminiscent of perceptions site - right down to never using a single capital letter.

� Alien - this one personally scares me. Someone might like it - in it�s my god the graphics are going to give me a seizure way.

� Matrix - a matrix like background.

� Matrix Static - Same as above with out the scrolling background.

� Gray on White - That�s a picture of me up top if you were wondering.

� Fae - just like Aliens but with Fairies. I should redo this one, it�s probably not what the person who requested it had in mind.

� Blueish - I like this one, it�s blue on white with a picture of Moby on top.

The Guestbook saves independently from the main page, you you can have two different styles for each, and if anyone has a request for a different style, let me know.



Ok, enough about Diaryland.

Tonight is the Providence Poetry Slam finals. Yep, after tonight I�m going to have a full team that I can start whipping into shape.

"Huh?"

Well you see the whole purpose of a Poetry Slam Team is to go to The National Poetry Slam. If you�re a long time reader you�ve heard me talk about how I helped organize the NPS in Providence last summer - well this summer the NPS is in Seattle.

Wooo Hooo - Rain!

Nah, Seattle is a place I always wanted to go and I�m really looking forward to just coaching a team this summer.

Yea that�s right, a Slam Team has a coach, and since I�m the guy who runs the slam, I have to coach the team that the slam produces.

So for at least two days a week from next week until the last week in July, I will be making 4 poets plus an alternate poet practice performing their poems and writing multi-voice poems and then practicing those multi-voice poems until they want to kill me and throw my dead ass in the river.

IT�S A LOT OF FUN!

Honestly, it is.

I was on the Slam team in 1999, so I can say it�s fun for both sides - since I helped coach last summer as well.



The featured performers for my finals tonight are right now up the road in a Midas on Route 146. After their van is fixed they�ll be napping in my living room for a few hours and then heating the club up for the slam.

I love their (The Morrigan�s) work. One of them (Andy) is allergic to cats, so I don�t know how much napping she�s going to be able to do.



Jen and I watched Charlie�s Angels last night. "Yawn." It could have been the 12" Telivision that we watch from about 15 feet away, but I wasn�t super impressed. I just had a hard time dispelling belief - and accepting what they were doing was physically possible. Anyway, it�s just my opinion - all you Charlies-Angels-philes can keep your hate mail to yourselves.



Well wish me luck with the slam, let me know if you like the new additions to this fangled site and send me flowers.

"No one sends me flowers" anymore. <--should be sung like Karen Carpenter (you know, the dead one)

Man I think I�ve finally lost it.



�� new old this that ��
            














Since Feb 2001





Long time no update. - 12.19.09

Clinton or Obama? - 2007-10-04

Two workshop Providence paid gig - looking for instructor - 2007-10-03

Big brother - 2007-09-26

Favorites - 2007-08-30