�� new old this that ��

2001-08-03.4:29 p.m.

Seattle Day 3 and 4

heya. So the Seattle Nationals is not like the one we held in Providence last year - I have been told by a great nuber of people. Oh well.

Wednesday night the Providence team competed at The Countour. I hated the venue, we had 4 middle class in thier 40's white women republican judges, and a 40 something year old white man as judges. As a result the judges and as a result of the San Francisco entourage who seem to think they have the right to give the silent treatment to every other team in thier bouts while they hoot and hollar for thier own poets and whoop and yell for thier own poets while they give quiet golf claps for the other teams after they're done, Providence tied for third.

The team and myself were almost devastated, it really jaded their perception of what a nationals is about... I shouldn't have expected much else when I saw who we were going up against and after I had a look at the venue. That venue practically had no stage - certainly not enough to do a multivoice poem on - and it may have helped if they had the microphones adjusted and the fricking stage lights turned ON... My first poet got scored a 19.6 so basically after that we had lost... whatever.

Providence was ranked 42'nd after the first night. That's out of 56.

The next night we were in a much better venue and we won. I had to run and fill in as a bout manager because they somehow didn't have enough volunteers, so I didn't get to even see a single poet of mine perform.

After Providence won their second match, they jumnped to 21st place. A spot that kept them out of the semi-finals, but still it proved to the kids that they weren't as bad as that first night would have led them to believe - especially after they jumped up to a rank of 21 once they won.

Today its 4:45 and the locations of the semi's and what teams are comepeting against each other still isn't decided.

The venues are really far apart. The scores were wrong earlier, and at first one of our teammates was in the indie semi-finals and then they called me back and said Alixa was out. If it upset her close to as much as that upset me, then I really feel bad for her.

All in all a lot of people are pissed, but they havn't run a nationals either. I certainly know its not an easy thing.

Oh well.

I'm proud of my team. They all feel good about themselves, and I caught a cold.

That's it for now. I'm looking forward to getting back home to Providence so I can get on a normal routine and get this damn journal back on track.

Later.



�� new old this that ��
            














Since Feb 2001





Long time no update. - 12.19.09

Clinton or Obama? - 2007-10-04

Two workshop Providence paid gig - looking for instructor - 2007-10-03

Big brother - 2007-09-26

Favorites - 2007-08-30