�� new old this that ��

2001-08-19.12:18 p.m.

Childhood Memories

Well Zan's Site listing is down, so I created my own. I stayed up until about 3am working on the damn thing.

This is it.

I like voting lists - not because of some popularity BS, but because it's neat to check out different sites and sometimes you find some rather interesting stuff you wouldn't otherwise find.

Currently I'm the only person on my list as it's brand new, so feel free to sign up if you want to... or not. It's all good.



Last night was my Mother and Andy's birthday party, not my mother and Aunts party. Good thing I bought two chairs for a gift instead of one. Sheesh I felt stupid.

I saw a lot of relatives last night that I haven�t seen in forever. My family is important to me, although I never make the time to see them.

If I stop to think of any of them, I get these memory pictures of certain points in my life.

My great aunt Ann who's 80. My Grandmother's sister. I think of her and I see a picture of my grandmother, its sad yet comforting. She doesn't look all the much like my grandmother, but once we started talking about polish food. Damn. It made me miss my Grams.

My great uncle Tony who's 78. He's a glass blower, I remember going to his house 20 years ago and watching him make glass swans. Clear swans, red swans, blobs of glass shaped into something wonderful right before my 9 year old eyes.

Uncle Vin... fishing in a small boat on Lake Chargoggagoggmanchauggagoggchaubunagungamaugg. That's really the name, but we call it Webster Lake for short. I also remember him helping my Mother and my ex-step father remodel our kitchen and he was working on a Formica counter top. I had probably bothered him once too many times and he finally lost his temper and he firmly asked me to let him work in peace because if he made one wrong cut he'd ruin the really expensive top he was working on. That was the only time I have ever seen him lose his cool. That was cool.

My Cousin Vin... seeing him when he was around 18 with his muscle car taken completely apart in his fathers garage. Everything was in pieces - the entire engine, the car itself, then coming back a week later and seeing it all back together again and him roaring down the road.

Aunt Joan... her chiding me once while I was around 15 years old and staying with her while my mother was in Hong Kong. I had this bad habit of only unbuttoning my dress shirts three buttons down and then pulling them off over my head. "Do you have any idea how much extra work this makes for me after you've been wearing these shirts all week?" "I don't mind taking care of you but this is a bit much." Heh. She was so right.

Aunt Dolores who I haven�t seen since 1993(!) I remember eating pea pods in her huge back yard garden. Her garden was the largest I had ever seen anyone keep. They even had corn. I remember sitting with her on the second floor deck of her house and just looking at the garden. I also remember her indulging my cousin Kim and my proclivity for making indoor tents out of her furniture, blankets, and clothes pins.

Uncle Dave gave me a ride on his motorcycle. Something my mother probably would have killed him for, but I'm glad he did it. I used to stay at his and my Aunt's house all the time, and his is also the first morning boner I ever saw. I used to wake up every day at 6am - no matter how late I was up, and being 7 years old, I saw him get up out of bed in his underwear once. Let me tell you, I was quite confused at the time. Don't worry, I'm not scarred by it.

Ann, my cousin Vin's wife. I remember when I used to windsurf and I was learning on the large pond they live on. I still had trouble tacking back through the wind, and she had to row out to me in a row boat as I was stranded a half mile away.

Most of the other relatives who were there, I know, and I knew well enough when I was little, but I didn't really spend that much time with them, so when I think of them I just get pictures of their living rooms, and frankly descriptions of peoples furniture are boring as hell, so I'll spare you.

I don't know. In some ways it was weird to see a lot of people I haven�t seen in so long because some have aged a lot, others look almost the same. All of the memories are good, but I can't help but to think of times that were happier than now, easier than now...

Times when I was a child and life was so less complicated

but I guess that happens to all adults.

Sooner or later.



�� new old this that ��
            














Since Feb 2001





Long time no update. - 12.19.09

Clinton or Obama? - 2007-10-04

Two workshop Providence paid gig - looking for instructor - 2007-10-03

Big brother - 2007-09-26

Favorites - 2007-08-30