�� new old this that ��

09.19.01.5:57 am

� answers �

Yep, it's early. I have to drive to East Hartford for work and I should wait to do this, but hell I'm a glutton for typing with my eyes closed and having lit cigarettes fall out of my sleep deprived mouth and wake me up by burning holes in my boxer shorts.

I MEAN, I AM DEDICATED TO THIS WEB SITE!

(well sort of, but I'm not Bob. Thats for sure)

So anway, every Wednesday I become The Answer Guy. If you need advice or need the answer to something, click on any of the � advice links on this site and ask anything you would like to.

---------------
name: clover
email: [email protected]
url: http://findyourself.diaryland.com
question:
I'm young, and like so many other Americans, I have never experienced war (thank goodness). But now, with such uncertainty looming, I have a few questions: 1) If we go to war, do I have to be sad all the time? It seems somehow wrong to be happy and do fun things when people are dying...possibly people I love. 2) Does war mean an automatic recession? 3) I work at an amusement park. If we go to war, am I going to lose my job? Over the past week, there were 5,000-11,000 people in the park per day. (The average is about 40,000-50,000.) I heard the park is only worth opening if 10,000 people show up. Am I going to be unemployed soon? 4) I know Bush is basically saying that there will be a war, but what kind of war will it be? A big one, like WWII, where people are drafted? I mean, how bad could it be if we are just fighting one little country, and we have all these other big countries backing us up? Sorry if that was a lot of questions, but I would really appreciate your opinion. Right now, I feel like a little girl who's parents are divorcing - my whole view of life has been changed. (God Bless America)

answer:

1) If we go to war, do I have to be sad all the time? It seems somehow wrong to be happy and do fun things when people are dying...possibly people I love.

You are going to have to go on with your life in a somewhat normal fashion. People will still have to work, people will still have to go to school. If we stop doing what is mostly normal, the country would shut down and this 'war' would definitely be lost.

This includes being sad. I'm not saying you should force yourself to be happy, but if you are happy with what you are doing, then let yourself be. There will be plenty of times for sadness through out your life - war or no war.

2) Does war mean an automatic recession?

Nope. War helped pull the US out of the Great Depression during World War II. What it does mean is a restructuring. Certain companies will do better in times of war than others and thus the stock market goes through an adjustment period. The problem is we were headed into a recession before this whole mess.

3) I work at an amusement park. If we go to war, am I going to lose my job? Over the past week, there were 5,000-11,000 people in the park per day. (The average is about 40,000-50,000.) I heard the park is only worth opening if 10,000 people show up. Am I going to be unemployed soon?

People will relax and start going about their lives sooner or later. If we go to war, people will need distraction and amusement parks will probably be a good distraction. The problem is the 'when' of it all.

I'd say once something happens - once some sort of agreement with Afghanistan or some sort of action against Afghanistan is made, people will start to go back to being somewhat normal consumers. As the days go on, you will see more and more people at the park.

4) I know Bush is basically saying that there will be a war, but what kind of war will it be? A big one, like WWII, where people are drafted? I mean, how bad could it be if we are just fighting one little country, and we have all these other big countries backing us up?

It could be another Vietnam. Afghanistan was the USSR's Vietnam in the 1980's. Seriously it might be pretty ugly. Times have changed though, but still it will not be a Desert Storm.

Also don't forget that this is a war against terrorism. That means we have to do something about terrorism in Iran, Iraq, Egypt, the Sudan and a host of other countries.

No one in Government is saying right now exactly how they plan to do it, but my guess is we are going to use a large variety of methods on the variety of countries we feel we need to do something about.

Afghanistan will probably be invaded with ground troops unless the Taliban come to their senses.

The other countries will then see that we are 'fucking serious' and will cave somewhat to political and economic pressures.

We may even have to invade Iraq again.

Honestly, I am just as frightened as you are.

---------------
name: m0ok
email:
url: http://m0ok.diaryland.com
question:
Being incorporeal, God probably can't skate. He's most likely unable to rollerblade either. I, on the other hand, am perfectly good at both of these things. Doesn't this mean that I'm more powerful than God?

answer:

Well, as you can see Jesus can ice skate and play hockey, so therefore God, his father, has to know how to rollerblade by now. What with Jesus being so progressive and all...

and it's God we're talking about, so I am sure he could grow a pair of feet if he put his mind to it... so nope Mr m0ok, you're not more powerful than god - unless you stop believing in him. ;)

---------------
name: a curious pseudonym
email: [email protected]
url: http://hoochiepoet.diaryland.com
question:
Am I paranoid? Your mention of the Geek Police has got me worried. What is it exactly that the Geek Police do? What sorts of twisted and amoral acts must one commit to prompt a call to the Geek Police? Is there a separate court system for geeks? Is being a geek illegal or are the Geek Police there merely to protect geeks from themselves and the normal people around them? If one is a geek, are they required by law to carry some sort of identification saying so? Does this bring us another step closer to the doomed existence foretold by the Prophet Orwell?

answer:

"Am I paranoid?" - Yes.

"Your mention of the Geek Police has got me worried." - Your question already has me worried.

"What is it exactly that the Geek Police do?" - They arrest people who are closet geeks and do not embrace their own inner geekdom - being nerdy is nothing to be ashamed of. They're sort of like the Taliban arresting people who have free will... without the murder, torture and amputations.

"What sorts of twisted and amoral acts must one commit to prompt a call to the Geek Police?" - See above.

"Is there a separate court system for geeks?" - Night court.

"Is being a geek illegal or are the Geek Police there merely to protect geeks from themselves and the normal people around them?" - See above the see above that is above what is above this.

"If one is a geek, are they required by law to carry some sort of identification saying so?" - No, the Geek Police can spot you 'just like that.'

"Does this bring us another step closer to the doomed existence foretold by the Prophet Orwell?" - apparently so. Who would have guessed it was all because of the Geek Police.

psst. Look at the embarrassment link before you start sending me nasty emails...

---------------
name: becca
email: [email protected]
url: http://cherry69.diaryland.com
question:
what do you do when your X ,whom you are still friends with, constantly rubs his new G.F in your face and then acts like if it wasn't for you, you would still be together? and then hits on you when the new girl isn't around just because he knows you still like him?

answer:

What do you do? You tell him to fuck off and die for acting like such an immature prick. The reason you aren't together is because he is a boy with the maturity level of a 4 year old. Believe me, you may like him, but no man is worth getting treated like you're disposable. No man is worth letting him use you, and no man is especially worth letting him demean you.

---------------
name: liz
email: [email protected]
url: http://area-51.diaryland.com
question:
do you yahoo?

answer:

Nope, I am a slave to Google.

---------------
name: Piper
email: [email protected]
url: http://white-rook.diaryland.com
question:
Where is the best place to get old-school plaid Converse hightops? And do you know of any good English-to-Gaelic translation web sites? (Yes, I'm very serious on both accounts.)

answer:

You know I have scowered the net for any place on-line that sells old school cons, but alas, I have found none. I do know that Converse definitely does not make them any longer. So your best bet is going to be scope...ing out The Salvation Army, good will, second hand stores and vintage clothing stores.

Also, there are no really good English-to-Gaelic translation web sites out there... None, nada, zip.

These guys will translate anything in English to Gaelic but it will cost you.

Of course since the number of Gaelic speakers in Scotland has fallen to less than 50,000 people. Which, in real terms means that less than one percent of the population can now speak the language, I can see why companies aren't killing each other to make such a translator.

Sorry, the answer man seems to be 0 for 2 on this one.

---------------
name: Lucie
email:
url: blondedevil.diaryland.com
question:
What causes d�ja vu?? I thought of that while I was on the toilet today, believe it or not, and so I thought I'd ask. There's also the movie answer..." D�ja vu is a glitch in the matrix"... but I wanna know the REAL answer...asnwer man... Bye!! Thanks

answer:

For the record, D�ja vu is actually comprised of 3 different feelings:

Deja vecu (already experienced or lived through)
Deja senti (already felt)
Deja visite (already visited)

Psychics call D�ja vu proof of psychic phenomena, some Neurologists and physiologists have even identified brain processes that might explain Deja vu, while most people write it off as mere coincidence or at the most our associating something we have experienced that is similar enough as well as not remembered enough to make the exact connection - hence we have a feeling of doing this exact same thing before, but can't remember exactly where, but we know we've done it - hence D�ja vu.

The truth is, no one really knows the answer. But if you would like to read an interesting account of it, check out Robert Runt�'s essay.



�� new old this that ��
            














Since Feb 2001





Long time no update. - 12.19.09

Clinton or Obama? - 2007-10-04

Two workshop Providence paid gig - looking for instructor - 2007-10-03

Big brother - 2007-09-26

Favorites - 2007-08-30