�� new old this that ��

09.22.01.4:22 pm

An email I recieved:

From: N.
Date: Friday, September 21, 2001 9:38 PM
To: [email protected]
Subject: Guestbook marking

John Powers,

I saw my first and only red haired cooter at Swan Point, at dusk, worried about the tales of loose dogs after dark, and the insane wandering over from Butlers Hospital. She was all Calvin Klein jeans, no underware, and a borderline personality disorder. Sweet, sweet days.

I have crawled around under the underpass close to the courthouse, wandered in the tunnels beneath Brown University (fuckin' hot as shit). Drank from the fountain on Benefit Street (duped into drinking from it by a daughter of Georgia), whose lore states that a taste and you will meet your demise in the city of Providence. Got drunk on the roof of the Biltmore. Is Buddy really living there? Made Amy Carter enchiladas, once. Made Kristen Hersh fajitas, often.

I watched new years eve fireworks from the only widows watch on Wickenden Street.

I had my apartment broken into twice.

I had a gun shot off beside my head once.

I was shot at once.

I ate at Pham Phem once a week.

There was a attemped mugging (two guys and a Coke can on Hope street, then came out of the bushes at Moses Brown, it was more of a joke than anything)

One heartbreak.

sincerely,
-N



I too have taken a drink from the Benefit Street fountain.

This is across the street from where I used to live

However serious muggings and gun shots have never touched me.

This is Thayer Street - the street to which I am moving in October.

You know Providence, you've lived Providence and if lore is correct, you will someday return.

This is the Providence Courthouse with WaterFire as a backdrop.

Let me know when you do... Yourself, Jen and I,

Another photo of Thayer Street.

can drink a coffee overlooking Thayer Street

The dreaded Thayer StarBucks

Well... as long as it's not at Starbucks.



Sincerly,
johnpowers



�� new old this that ��
            














Since Feb 2001





Long time no update. - 12.19.09

Clinton or Obama? - 2007-10-04

Two workshop Providence paid gig - looking for instructor - 2007-10-03

Big brother - 2007-09-26

Favorites - 2007-08-30