�� new old this that ��

09.26.01.9:34 am

� Answers �

Well today is the day I tell the current leasing agency that we're breaking the lease on our current apartment. Joy. Its going to cost us a lot of money to get out of the dungeon apartment we currently live in and into the new one, but its worth it.

I can't wait to move. 13 or 14 days and we will be in the new place. I can't wait to start lifing heavy things.

Actually I can't wait to be done with the heavy lifting - that's what I'm looking forward to.

So every Wednesday I become The Answer Guy. If you need advice or need the answer to something, click on any of the � advice links on this site and ask anything you would like to.

---------------
name: Sandy
email: [email protected]
url: http://
question:
Dear John Powers, I grew up in RI, and when I was 16 moved to MA. I spent 3 years going to URI, before changing majors and switching to UMassD. After graduation (spring 2000)I moved to NC with the guy I was engaged to. I started seeing (okay, I am a cheat) a friend from high school when I was home for a visit. I broke off my engagement in June. The high school friend is coming to visit me in NC next week. Here are my questions: 1. Since we haven't seen each other in 3 months, how much time should I expect he will want to have sex, and how much time should I have scheduled activities for? 2. If he asks me to move back to MA to be with him, how much notice do I need to give my work so that they will be happy to rehire me if I ever want my job back? 3. What do you feed pet frogs? Thank you for you time. Sandy

Answer:
1. How much time should I expect he will want to have sex, and how much time should I have scheduled activities for?
I'd suggest coming up with a bunch of possible activities but not scheduling any activities at all. Play it by ear, drink plenty of water, practice safe sex, and make sure any animals you care for are well fed before he gets there.

2. If he asks me to move back to MA to be with him, how much notice do I need to give my work so that they will be happy to rehire me if I ever want my job back?
Standard business etiquette dictates a two week notice as standard. Explain that while you love working for the company, you need to move back to MA for now. State that you would like them to consider the possibility for returning to the company at a later date and that if it helped them, you could possibly stay for up to three weeks if it makes your departure easier.

3. What do you feed pet frogs?
It depends on the type of frog. Most adult frog of almost all species are insect eaters. Adult frogs will seldom eat dead or still objects - they are attracted to moving things. Live earthworms or insects, such as spiders, crickets, fruit flies or moths will work fine. Most frogs like to be fed daily. Larger frogs may eat small mammals, birds, snakes and lizards as well as other frogs of the same species.

Much depends on the species and age of your frog, as well as trial-and-error with foods. If your frog doesn't like something, he will spit it out. If it does that, its time to move on to a different food.

Don't confuse a toad with a frog. Toads are slow and fat; frogs are slim and fast. Toads have warts on their skin; frogs are smooth. Toads like dry habitats but need water to lay eggs; frogs live in or near the water, except for the tree frog.

---------------
name: My secret identity must not be disclosed.
email:
url:
question:
john powers, If Pat Robertson, Jerry Farrell and the angry duck got in a fight, who would win?

Answer:
It doesn't matter because they're all QUACKS! Ah ha ha ha ha! I quack myself up sometimes. Ah ha ha ha ha!

*Ahem*

I'd say if the duck were alone Patty and Jerry would probably win, but if it were the Duck and his Bruiser goose patrol, the duck would have them hands and wings down.

If you're wondering what the hell this is about, click here.

---------------
name: Beth
email: [email protected]
url: http://angryquail.diaryland.com
question:
Dear Mr. Powers:
Old-school business style colon.

To get to my question: I have heard of the term "deja jamais", and have a vague concept of what it is (I know it's related to deja vu, and what it means in French, etc.), but could you please give an explanation of what this is?

Sincerely,
Beth

Answer:
Deja jamais? That means already never... and while

Deja vecu (already experienced or lived through)
Deja senti (already felt)
Deja visite (already visited)
Jamais vecu (never experienced or lived through)
Jamais senti (never felt)
Jamais visite (never visited)

are all popular mostly unexplained phenomena of either feeling as if something has occurred (Deja...) or feeling as if something has never happened before - such as being in your room and suddenly feeling as if you've never been in that room ever before (Jamais...), I have never heard of Deja jamais.

---------------
name: Janna
email: [email protected]
url:
question:
Ok, I always wanted to ask you a question so here goes. I'm in love with my friend Chris, but he likes my friend Jenny, but Jenny hates him and I've told him that she hates him but he doesn't seem to be getting it, plus, my friend Danielle also likes him and he knows that she likes him but he doesn't like her, and no one knows I like him. I don't know if I should tell him or how he would react. Do you have any advice from a guy's perspective?
Thanks lol

Answer:
I can't speak for all of men's kind, but I do know that both mean and women spend so much of their lives playing the ritual games of courtship. Courtship rituals such as flirtation, teasing, feigned interest in others activities, the filling up of lockers with shaving cream, getting tripped while walking down the hall, having "I'll Get You" written in lip stick in reverse letters on your second floor bedroom window...

umm... perhaps those are just the rituals I've experienced. I don't know...

Anyway, back when I was a single person I always seemed to start dating women who were blatant with me. I was always too shy and respectful to pursue a woman for any length of time without getting some pretty strong feed back...

now I'm not saying I needed a woman to scream out "F*ck my NOW big boy!" before I'd get the hint that she was interested, but short of them asking me out, having someone else tell me that I was 'liked' by such and such a person, or having a woman just start kissing me out of pure frustration that I would never make the first move, I'd probably still be single.

Many people are like me, so to be safe, I'd suggest if you want the boy, get the boy. Ask him out. Tell him that your interested.

The worst that can happen would be that he says no and guess what? You'll still be in same situation that you are now if he does, you'll just have one more answered question - and that is that he is indeed a dumb ass.

---------------
name: Piper
email: [email protected]
url: http://white-rook.diaryland.com
question:
John Powers, you are my hero. Since you are such a magnificent human being, perhaps you can answer me this riddle- what exactly *is* a kumquat?

Answer:
It's a little fruit - sort of like a tangerine but smaller.

It's also a word myself and my friends liked to say a lot when we were 13.

"Excuse me Mrs. Grocer, do you have any kumquats?"

"Hey Amy, do you like kumquats?"

"Kumquat, kumquat, kumquat, kumquat, kumquat, KUMQUAT!!!!"

cum�quat (kmkwt)
n.

Variant of kumquat.


kum�quat also cum�quat (kmkwt)
n.
  1. Any of several trees or shrubs of the genus Fortunella, having small, edible, orangelike fruit.
  2. The fruit of these plants, having an acid pulp and a thin, edible rind. It is the smallest of the citrus fruits.


[Chinese (Cantonese) kamkwat, equivalent to Chinese (Mandarin) xn, gold + Chinese (Mandarin) j�, orange, tangerine.]

The Top 10 Most Popular Sites for 'kumquat'



�� new old this that ��
            














Since Feb 2001





Long time no update. - 12.19.09

Clinton or Obama? - 2007-10-04

Two workshop Providence paid gig - looking for instructor - 2007-10-03

Big brother - 2007-09-26

Favorites - 2007-08-30