�� new old this that ��

09.27.01.11:05 am

Poetry and getting laid... off

So is it bad when your company announces that it won't be making it's third and fourth quarter profit estimates?

Is it bad when the company fires its COO and the president of its helicopter division?

Is it bad when it tells its private aircraft division head to "START MAKING SOME MONEY OR WE'RE GONNA SHANK YO ASS TOO" ?

How about "Unavoidable job force cuts"?

I'm just wondering, because I'm about to move into a new apartment that's almost double my current rent and I'd just like to be sure.

Kill me now... please.

Actually my job is pretty safe, I highly doubt I'll get laid off because there's still over a million unfilled computer programming jobs in this country - even in this ecconomy, and my division is the only division of my company that makes any tangible cash for the parent company... so I SHOULD be fine.

Famous last words...



So, I agreed to feature at The Bowery. Its Bob Holman's new poetry club. Yep a club with a bookstore, my friend Shappy tending the bar, and 7 day a week poetry events. I can't wait to see this new place. It opens in December.

Its in Manhattan on 308 Bowery (just south of Bleecker St.), across the street from CBGBs - which is nearer to China Town than Ground zero, I believe.

I'll be there March 24, so mark your calendars if you're in the area, and want to see proof that I really am a tall skinny dorkish poet with a day job.

I might try to set up a mini tour around then because I'll be in NYC anyway. Bar 13 on 35th East 13th street, and the Nuyorican would be the other gigs I'd do if scheduling works out. I never featured at the Nuyorican before but I'm good friends with the people at Bar 13, so it may work out.

Hell it would be good to see some old friends anyway.

AND! I have another gig coming up - October 13th at Speakeasy - the newly renamed revamped reworked revitalized reading I used to run at the MoonStruck cafe in Chartlon MA. P0etik is running it now and it sounds like she's doing some great things with it.



For those keeping track, Regie Gibson one of the most amazing performance poets in the world (and I don't throw accolades like that around for marketing purposes only) is next week's feature at my show - The Providence Poetry Slam.



What else? What else?

It seems not too many people were impressed with yesterday's answer column. Well, bite me hard and call me rosy, I work with what I get... so save the nasty emails, I have a filter that forwards anything with phrases like 'you suck', 'I can't believe anyone reads this crap', and 'meet me at the pier you tall sexy HUNK you, I want your baby!!' STRAIGHT TO THE TRASH.



Oh, and Genghis-Jon found out my secret, my name really is Kimberly Powers, and I am in fact a woman who dresses as a man. My trip to Seattle in August was actually a lie, a cover story as I flew to Africa so I could shed my male persona and appear on Survivor. My being gone for only a week tells you how well I did.


Isn't the similarity unnerving?.



�� new old this that ��
            














Since Feb 2001





Long time no update. - 12.19.09

Clinton or Obama? - 2007-10-04

Two workshop Providence paid gig - looking for instructor - 2007-10-03

Big brother - 2007-09-26

Favorites - 2007-08-30