�� new old this that ��

10.31.01.12:12 pm

� Answers - an advice column �

Yea yea, so every week I do this funky fresh fly advice and answer column.

If you need advice or need the answer to something, click on any of the � advice links on this site and ask anything you would like.

Go me.

The parts for my refrigerator and my dishwasher came in yesterday, so there will be no more washing dishes by hand for me and my fridge door shall fulfil it's intended purpose in creation - and that is to hold many many bottles of condiments we never use.

Life is very exciting as of late.

Tomorrow I'll tell the story of the trash digger. This person seems to be the successor to the 'throw the patio chair in the river' people - which is unfortunate for me in real life, but quite good for the readers of this journal.

Yes, johnpowers is being messed with once again!

Anyway, here's this week's column.



ask johnpowers

---------------
name: m0ok
email:
url: http://m0ok.diaryland.com
question:
Lord Powers.
When engaging in sexual intercourse with an "inflatable person" is it still necessary to take the anti-STD precautions advised by the World Health Organization? What if the inflatable person is from a second or third world country? The person I have in mind is likely to be from Taiwan or China.

Answer:
Anti-STD precautions would probably not be needed - instead, antiseptic procedures would definitely be recommended.

How can you be sure this "inflatable person" was not factory tested?

What if someone else has been engaging in a dialogue or other intercourse with this "inflatable person" while you have not been home?

How do you know? How do you not know?

One exception would be if you are planning on using the "inflatable person" as a sexual aid - such as a third or fourth party in an escapade. In such a case as that, a STD could be sexually transmitted from one "non-inflatable person" to the "inflatable person" and then on to another "non-inflatable person".

I suggest covering yourself in saran wrap before even stepping anywhere near the air compressor.


---------------
name: Sandy
email: [email protected]
url: http://
question:
Dear Mr. Powers,

I am going to be visiting the Providence/Boston area on November eleventh and twelfth, could you please suggest some activities I could engage in with a date. They do not need to be night time activities, but it would be best if there were few children because we hate kids. We are both over 21, and he is a smoker.
Thanks,
Sandy

Answer:
On Sunday night if you like Jazz you could go to either:

The Black Musicians Association Jamm Session, JazzMasters, 1070 North Main St., Providence. 401-351-7282. 5-9pm.

or

Mike Tanaka and Roomful Of Friends, jazz, Trinity Brewhouse, 186 Fountain St., Providence. 401-453-2337. 7 pm. No cover

There's also a fun show on the 11th:

Mystery Cabaret, pop, jazz, comedy and sing-along, Highland Court, 101 Highland Ave., Providence. 401-273-2220. 2 pm. No cover.

Monday Nov 12th night has very few advanced advertised shows going on in the city.

If you're looking for a fun date, go to Thayer Street. There are a good number of restaurants there and a few bars that aren't bad. You could do some shopping as well.

Because it's November, most of the island such as Block Island are not worth bothering with. Who want's to shiver on a ferry boat in November?

My suggestion is to come to town, grab a Providence Phoenix (a local entertainment paper) and look through it. You'll see what's going on and can decide from there.

Also, let me know a little more about what your interests are and I might be able to help you out a bit more.


---------------
name: Lori
email: [email protected]
url: http://chaoschick.diaryland.com
question:
So there's this guy I really like and I don't think he knows. He's always nice to me, but he's nice to everybody, so I know he probably thinks nothing special of me. One time he told me I looked great. I walked in and he was laughing. I asked what was funny. Was it me? Because I'm paranoid, ya know. He said, no, you look great. I don't know if he was complimenting me or just trying to stop me from freaking out on him.

Anyway, I'm really shy about this kind of thing so I could never walk up and say I like him. I need a way to find out if he thinks I'm okay or repulsive without him knowing about my crush. Got a way for me to do that?


Answer:
If you don't want him to find out you're crushing on him, you're going to have to rely on deception and deceit - neither of which are a good way to start a relationship.

But if you must, have a friend of yours start a rumor that he likes you. Then have that friend tell a few people so that it gets back to you. Then ask another friend to ask the boy in confidence and find out if the rumor is true.

Have that friend ask the boy in a way that doesn't threaten him with any sort of embarrassment (such as doing it (by that I mean asking him) in private) - otherwise you are not guaranteed to get a truthful answer.


---------------
name: clover
email:
url: http://findyourself.diaryland.com
question:
I've always wondered: what exactly IS catnip? How come it makes cats go nuts? And where can I get the (legal) equivalent of it for humans?


Answer:
The catnip plant is a member of the mint family. It's an herb that contains an oil called hepetalactone which does for some cats what marijuana does to some people.

With marijuana the chemical is THC that causes the feelings of euphoria, increased appetite and the desire to partake in carpentry to build bongs out of anything and everything at hand.

With cats, hepetalactone causes many (but not all cats) to enter a trance-like state. A positive reaction can be the cat sniffing the catnip, then licking, biting, chewing, rub & rolling on it repeatedly, purring, meowing, and - like my cat - shimmying up my leg when I even hold the can in plain sight.

Unfortunately, or fortunately depending on your point of view, as I've said the human equivalent of catnip is marijuana and thus is not legal.


---------------
name: Justin
email:
url: http://justdeal.diaryland.com
question:
So, hypothetically speaking, if an American wanted to move to Canada and work, what would the procedure be? Conversely, what does a Canadian coming to the U.S. need to do? All of this is, of course, hypothetical.

Answer:
Either way, you're going to have to fill out a bunch of applications and forms.

If you are coming to the U.S. you would need to get a visa. A visa is a permit to apply to enter the United States. Upon entering the U.S. you would be issued an arrival-departure record - stating that you have been granted entry to the country based on your visa permit to apply for entry.

Anyone who is travelling to the United States to become an immigrant must have an immigrant visa.

In addition, most people who want to travel to the United States as a nonimmigrant require a visa. However, under the Visa Waiver Program, nationals of participating countries do not require a visa to apply to enter the United States as a visitor for business or pleasure if staying for no more than 90 days, and if not inadmissible (such as being on the President's 20 most wanted list of international terrorists.) Canada is a member of the Visa Waiver Program.

In general, Canadians do not generally require a nonimmigrant visa unless they are coming to the United States as a Treaty Trader. I have absolutely no idea anymore as to what a Treaty Trader actually is, but chances are, neither of you are one.

Basically, this works much the same way if you want to go to Canada as well, I believe however that they have different names for some of this stuff up there.

Canadian Application kits and forms can be found here.

U.S. Application kits, forms and FAQ's can be found here.

BTW, there are agencies that can handle all of this for you in both Canada and the U.S.

Also, if you get a job first as a non-resident visitor, often your new company will take care of all the BS for you. Here at my job, we help out our employees from India quite often.

Good luck.



�� new old this that ��
            














Since Feb 2001





Long time no update. - 12.19.09

Clinton or Obama? - 2007-10-04

Two workshop Providence paid gig - looking for instructor - 2007-10-03

Big brother - 2007-09-26

Favorites - 2007-08-30