�� new old this that ��

11.01.01.12:07 pm

The Trash Nazis

Around the East Side of Providence there's a pretty common occupation called dumpster diving.

The East side is full of College Students - rich College Students who go to The Rhode Island School of Design and Brown University.

Now, there are a lot of students who go to these schools who are not rich - take my girlfriend Jen, she graduated from RISD in 2000 after paying for her education through student loans and many part time jobs,

but there are a lot of rich students who get their way paid by rich parents

and a smaller proportion of these students have very rich trash.

While Jen was in school we had apartments furnished almost entirely with furniture picked up off of the curb.

Futons, lamps, stereos, televisions. Drive around the east side keeping your eyes open on Sunday night and you're bound to find something useful

some item some student replaced with a better item, so they tossed the old one.

People have found year old computers, CD players, play stations... you name it.

It's the one man's trash is another mans treasure taken to the extreme.

Well. Things tend to get around, and since this has been happening for over 30 years, there are people who supplement their income by dumpster diving.

The problem is if you leave one thing of worth near your trash, sometimes a person will take it as a sign that you must have other good stuff in your trash and root through the rest of it.

Take me for example. Or rather take my trash -

just like someone else did.

Last Saturday, I took down this tacky glass and metal shelf the crazy women in my apartment before me had left and left it in this covered 7 foot long wooden trash bin behind my house.

The bin was pretty full already because I had just moved in and had to clean the place and throw a bunch of stuff out - as is usually the case after a move.

On Sunday night when I went to take the bags of trash from the bin to the curb, I found that someone had taken the shelf and then opened ALL of my bags of trash and dumped them out into the wooden bin.

My upstairs neighbors put their trash in the same bin, so their trash was intermingled with mine.

Every bag was emptied and I had this giant mess of dirty paper towels, food waste, and other assorted nastiness - such as cat littler - in a 4 inch layer along the bottom of the bin.

Co-Mingling trash. I hate that.

Yea, I was pissed.

So I spent an hour in the dark, with a flash light in my mouth, putting all of the trash I had ALREADY put into bags once - back into new bags before I could put in all out on the curb.

I even had to re-shovel shovel cat litter.

WHO IN THEIR RIGHT MIND EXPECTS TO FIND ANYTHING USEFUL IN A BAG OF USED CAT LITTER?

IS THAT WHERE I KEEP THE WADS OF 20 DOLLAR BILLS I JUST HAPPEN TO BE THROWING OUT?

Did I accidentally throw away my diamond collection in the cat litter? Perhaps those really aren't scent crystals in there.

Is there a black market for cat poop?

Anyone?

Bueler?

Anyway, I hope this doesn't keep up. Battling hoodlums who threw my patio chairs into the river was bad enough at the last apartment...

if I have to battle trash pickers who have no manners at this one, then I'm going to have to do something drastic...

like buy a lock for my trash bin.

Ooh, the horror!



By the way, DON'T EVER RETURN A PHONE CALL TO AREA CODE 809

The area code will take you someplace in the British Virgin Islands which is NOT governed by 900 number regulations.

They will charge you $2,425.00 per minute and there is not much you can do about it once it is on your bill.

(just a little disaster recovery knowledge - passed on - to you - my much appreciated readers)



I have the Slam to host tonight.

Jen's friend Tammy is coming tonight to visit for a few days. She is the sweetest nicest person, but has strange timing. Last night around 10pm she called saying she was coming to visit tomorrow.

It's all good, I'm just glad Jen will get to visit with one of her friends. I'm fun and funny and all, I'm just no girlfriend.

Plus, I've been out of it lately.



I am either slipping into or coming out of a depression. I don't know why I was depressed or am getting depressed, but I feel it.

Well, at least I felt it... apathetic, ungrounded, tired, cranky, motivation...less.

Today however I feel great.

Who knows why? I'm probably just nuts

as nuts as a cat litter sifting Trash Nazi.



�� new old this that ��
            














Since Feb 2001





Long time no update. - 12.19.09

Clinton or Obama? - 2007-10-04

Two workshop Providence paid gig - looking for instructor - 2007-10-03

Big brother - 2007-09-26

Favorites - 2007-08-30