�� new old this that ��

03.26.02.11:59 PM

� Answers �

On Wednesday I become the Answer person. If you need advice or need the answer to something, click on this � advice link and I will do my best to ex - press.

I got a mad hair cut today. I look almost respectable. Also today, I was given a PI200 laptop with a 6 gig drive and 96 meg of ram. Indeed if I didn't have to run to a 4 hour meeting in 30 minutes, I'd be having the perfect day.

ask johnpowers

---------------
name: Tovah
email:
url: http://cleopatragb.diaryland.com
question:
Supposing that I nail an interview today and get hired, Should I give two weeks notice to my ass-faced employers who've been screwing me over for the last 6 months having me do a superiors work without a pay-raise, who personally insult me and didn't even know I had been working there for a year and a half? Or do I call in sick on a Thursday and Friday and then on Monday announce that instead of being sick, I quit? Will I lose my sick days? Should I even bother to tell them that I quit? What would you do in this situation?

answer:
---------------
Honestly, I would give two weeks notice and tough it out. Yeah, it would be nice to give your current employer a nice big F.U. but you may someday need a reference from them.

What if 3 years down the road you're trying for a new job, that new job calls your old job (the one that is currently screwing you) and they report that you didn't give a notice and just quit?

See what the new place would like you to do. If the new company wants you right away, then offer the old company a 1 week notice... blah blah blah you get the idea.

---------------
name: Mad
email: [email protected]
url: http://madscientist.diaryland.com
question:
I'm such a procrastinator. I procrastinate so much, I had to read two books for school over the weekend and write three essays. How can I stop procrastinating?

answer:
---------------
"Why do today what can be put off until tomorrow?" - JohnPowers

"Because it really can't be done tomorrow unless you're the type of person who is proud of rushed half ass work. That's why." - JohnPower's Mother.

My advice to you is to set a time to do something and stick to that time. Schedule it. No ifs ands butts or trips to the bathroom.

People procrastinate with things because they are not fun. The things are hard. The things are not interesting. The things are not as exciting as watching an episode of Law & Order on cable even though its the third time you've seen it.

People go to work on time because that is expected. If you show up late for work enough times you'll be fired. So schedule the time to read your books and write your essays. Set a time that give you left over time to possibly review or relax knowing the assignment is done. Then stick to that time as if your job and your paycheck depended on it, because in reality, it someday will.

---------------
name: jj
email: [email protected]
url: http://jjslair.diaryland.com
question:
john~ was hoping you could help me out....see, i'm a cute single female who stumbled across your site, took your ilovejohnpowers quiz, and now i KNOW that i am hopelessly, truly in love with you, and need to have you as soon as possible. what do you suggest?? please answer soon.....i can't wait much longer for your reply, being that i've now become so smitten with you that i now love to just read your written word..... yours truly, jj

answer:
---------------
Errr. I know of a place that makes life sized manequins. If you poke around my site for a while you'll find several pictures of me and you could then send the manequin company pictures and have them manufacture a life-sized likeness of me to do what you wish with.

Just don't dress me in a George Bush suit.

---------------
name: Piper
email: [email protected]
url: http://white-rook.diaryland.com
question:
Do you of any good programs out there that can rip tracks off of a CD and turn them into mp3s?

answer:
---------------
Windows Media Player and Real Jukebox can both rip mp3's. As for real good ones... Audio Grabber isn't bad.

---------------
name: jeanie unknown
email: [email protected]
url: http://needstorage.diaryland.com
question:
dear john, did you know you are the most powerful man on earth? it really seems to be true. i think maybe you have telepathy or something and are simply reading other peoples thoughts. no, not really. have you ever considered the fragility of the human brain as vs. the human heart (or possibly i mean head vs. ribs)?

answer:
---------------
Have I ever considered the fragility of the human head vs. the human ribs?

No. They're both just bones to me. However on frontal impacts I believe the head is stronger than the ribs.

Have I ever considered the fragility of the human brain as vs. the human heart?

This reminds me of a story...

I was sitting at a bar and there was this old guy next to me named Frying Pan Jack. An old nasty looking bum. He used to ride box cars until it got too dangerous.

I said to him, "Jack, ever considered the fragility of the human brain vs. the human heart?"

He said, "Son... no matter how New Age you get, old age still gonna kick your ass."

---------------
name: Mad
email: [email protected]
url: http://madscientist.diaryland.com
question:
First off, I just want to say that I absolutely HATE the pop up windows that I get whenever I go to some webpages. How do I make them dissappear when I'm surfing the net? And why do they exist in the first place?

answer:
---------------
Install a program called AdSubtract. It should stop most pop ups and is free.

Popup ads are effective from a marketing a-hole's point of view because a viewer is forced to look at the ad before it is closed. Banner ads on WebPages can mostly be ignored. There is a lot of statistics that show a popup ad gets a much higher number of people actually clicking on the ad and buying something than a normal banner ad.

I can deal with popup ads - without them more web sites would go to a subscription service where you have to pay for content.

What pisses me off is email Spam. Now that stuff is out of control.

---------------



�� new old this that ��
            














Since Feb 2001





Long time no update. - 12.19.09

Clinton or Obama? - 2007-10-04

Two workshop Providence paid gig - looking for instructor - 2007-10-03

Big brother - 2007-09-26

Favorites - 2007-08-30