�� new old this that ��

2007-08-05.21:46

A party and then I was almost mostly dead

Yesterday was our party for TJ's second birth day. We had about 20 people come and TJ had a great time. I grilled, ran out of propane, ran to the store to exchange a tank and didn't need to grill any more. All in all a nice party for the boy. He made out like a sweet but spoiled boy. He was very well mannered to boot. Today I started scraping my house in order to paint. I have one of those long ladders with 4 joints. Its a scaffold or a normal ladder or a super tall ladder. Think of an accordion. I was scraping the second floor windows and the middle hinge let go. I fell 20 feet to the ground and my momentum carried me into the raised bed of my vegetable garden. My shoulder broke the fall on the 2 X 6 plant and my glasses flew into the pumpkin patch. My neck is just sore and my shoulder has a nice bruised line in it. After I fell, Anne had to come out and help me find the glasses and I didn't go back up the ladder today. I'm still trying to decide if I'm going to go up the ladder again because paying someone is sounding like a much better idea and I'd like to be there for my son's 3rd birthday. We'll see how I feel in the morning.

-John Powers



GotPoetry News as of Sun, 05 Aug 2007 18:06:14 GMT

York honors two artists
Victor Infante's Horribly Busy Weekebd ...
On Books | Failed attempt at explaining Bergman's genius
Poems from Guant namo
American Life in Poetry: Found Letter



�� new old this that ��
            














Since Feb 2001





Long time no update. - 12.19.09

Clinton or Obama? - 2007-10-04

Two workshop Providence paid gig - looking for instructor - 2007-10-03

Big brother - 2007-09-26

Favorites - 2007-08-30