�� new old this that ��

03.20.02.12:33 pm

� Answers �

Tonight is my slam. CR Avery is featuring, the Youth Slam Grand Slam is tonight, and we're ending with the Adult main slam as usual.

I feel like hell today, how unfortunate.

Yes... every Wednesday I become the Answer person. If you need advice or need the answer to something, click on this � advice link and I will do my best to ex - press.



ask johnpowers

---------------
name: Sammael
email:
url: http://
question:
Know of any safe, effective ways of wiping out the human race?
answer:

---------------
Safe + Human Race wiped out...

Human Race wiped out + Safe...

Safe for who? You? You're wiped out too if the entire race is gone. Hrmm. Safe for some alien race most of us don't know about? Safe for the other animal species?

If you wanted to wipe out all humans and leave the rest of the fauna and animals, then diverting an asteroid would be out. Even if you could develop a super virus, how would you infect the remote caches of humans? Tribes that live in the Amazon and such? Haven't you read "The Stand" by Stephen King?

I'd have to say no, I don't know of any way to wipe out the human race.

---------------
name: Christine
email: [email protected]
url: http://
question:
What are some jobs that earn a decent amount of money that you don't have to go to college for? Suppose you are supporting two people.
answer:

---------------
A decent amount of money depends on what part of a country you are in. In Providence, workers in the mall can get over 10 dollars an hour at certain store - more when they offer commission.

I have a friend who makes decent money working as a night supervisor in a half way house for criminals. Its an entry level job I believe and he never graduated college.

I would suggest finding a job in some sort of office. Find an entry level position in a larger company as a secretary, a mail room worker, or a data processor and then that company will often pay for you to go to school.

Customer support at different types of companies often pays better than average.

---------------
name: Piper
email: [email protected]
url: http://white-rook.diaryland.com/
question:
I have a habit of buying kitchen utensils as a joke for my friends as part of their birthday gifts (fondue forks, tongs, wooden spoons, cheese grater, penguin-shaped ice cream scooper, etc). My best friend Anetka's b-day is coming up... what's a fun utensil I can get her?
answer:

---------------
Buy her a rolling pin.

---------------
name: sarah
email: [email protected]
url: http://adelphi.diaryland.com/
question:
john john john. i try to go to the few slams i do know about (i have some friend on the Connecticut slam team), but i hear of very few slams in the southern Connecticut area. would you, by any chance, be able to give me better luck in my search, or is poetry just foreign to ct?
answer:

---------------
The only two slams in CT that I know of are in Hartford:

CT SLAM
Planet Bean - - a coffee place
823 East Center St. Wallingford
First Fridays 7-9 pm
Hartford

&

DE Place International Caf�
Hartford, CT. 06105

Generally I don't hear of much slam poetry going on in Connecticut, and I'm not sure why. If I were you, I would start one yourself. Its not that hard, and there are plenty of people around neighboring states who would help you.

---------------
name: Mr Rune
email:
url: http://runeology.diaryland.com/
question:
Being an old HTML ignorant as I am, putting a Notify list box at the bottom of my diary, or similar other handy devices makes my I.E browser jump to the bottom of the page after its loaded. Showing readers the end of my entry before they see the start. Being the pedantic sort, is there any way I can stop it from doing this?
answer:

---------------
It happens because the form element - such as a text box - is set as the default/selected or it is loaded last. If you're including a script or object from another site, you're pretty much out of luck unless you can save the source locally, modify it, and then use the new code on your page.

If you can't figure it out, send me an email and I'll look into it further.



�� new old this that ��
            














Since Feb 2001





Long time no update. - 12.19.09

Clinton or Obama? - 2007-10-04

Two workshop Providence paid gig - looking for instructor - 2007-10-03

Big brother - 2007-09-26

Favorites - 2007-08-30