�� new old this that ��

2001-03-12.16:33:12

a little family history

My mother says to me: "Grampa, your grandfather was many things. He worked in the steel mills of Wyman Gordon in Massachusetts during World War II. That is why he was exempt. Someone had to do those kinds of jobs. He was also a weaver for a long time and then he worked in the plastic industry making things like buttons. He would bring home cans and cans of buttons for my Grandmother. I remember this. Gramma always worked in the shoe industry. She made sample shoes (the ones that were in shows for sales presentations.) She worked in that one job from the time I was 2 years old until she retired. Grampa and Gramma both retired at 65. Grampa was born 5/2/10 and Gramma was born 1/16/16. They both died at age 76, as you know, your Grandfather 6 years before Grandma. Your Grandmother died on their wedding anniversary."

I asked her about the farm, "Your Grandfather and his brothers used to own a farm with your Great Grandfather and Grandmother in Woodstock, CT. I was very small and only remember a few things about it. There were mostly cows for milking. I knows there were two huge horses for plowing. Tom and Jerry. There are pictures. Also chickens and lots of cats in the barn. Jokie, your great uncle who died before you were born, used to milk and the cats would line up. It was so funny to see. Every once in a while he would take one of the teats and squirt the cats in the face. They would clean their faces and get a meal at the same time. I don�t remember any other animals, but there must have been others. They mostly grew vegetables, apples and berries and lots of corn..."

One of my goals is to record some of my family history. I�ve lost so much as it is.



�� new old this that ��
            














Since Feb 2001





Long time no update. - 12.19.09

Clinton or Obama? - 2007-10-04

Two workshop Providence paid gig - looking for instructor - 2007-10-03

Big brother - 2007-09-26

Favorites - 2007-08-30