�� new old this that ��

2001-05-03.11:55 a.m.

Corrosion

Walking through December w/ a bottle in my pocket

Reachin in to pull it out but I pulled out a locket

I flipped @ cracked the glass staring @ your face

I flipped & tilted back & felt the whisky chase



Corrosion�s eating @ me & it�s a warm winter rain

on a blue black gray December night

I walk towards a lamp post light

the feeling I start to fight

to fight

to fight

and I don�t quite believe it



Last week ended ten months / 308 days of salting my tongue

not the longest stretch I've ever had.

ten months of not drinking is worse than four days of

when that drink fills a spot

here (he points to his throat) & another here (he points to his chest)

the hole in my chest is growing

the shake in my hands is showing

& even rats will run themselves to death

& I�m Sitting through December w/ a bottle in my pocket



When I drink I�ve been able to have one or two & the holes half filled

but if I have two three's a possibility

after 3, I keep going until I'm mixing water milk & the last of the vodka I found in the back of a drawer,

and the spot I've been trying to top off has expanded to fill my chest.

One is never enough 100 is never enough

there are days I don�t want to live

I wanna die

& I don�t know where to turn to fill the void I've eaten in my chest

& if I could just cut out

I wouldn't deal w/ it anymore

yeah, it's depression

mania

obsession to obsession

substance to abundance

& a rat will run itself to death rather than eat if it's given a drink for running

& there�s a hole I want to fill

I have gone from sports to booze to spending to pot to smoking to poetry to where I am now.

& now

the holes growing larger

the ache

stronger

& I don't know what to fill it w/

because poetry isn�t a cure for my problems

but sometimes it helps



the hole in my chest is growing

the shake in my hands is showing

& even rats will run themselves to death

& I�m sitting through December w/ a bottle in my pocket

& Once I drank for so long the first two beers burned my throat

alcohol burning through

until I was numbed by the third

once the sixth started to burn I stopped

and ran up 10,000 in credit card debt

it's hard to buy drugs on credit so I switched to pot.

Sitting at home eating junk food is cheaper than almost everything at the mall

& when you're stoned, nothing really matters

so I stopped the ganja kick & replaced herb w/ camels

filterless to regulars to lights to 1/2 pack a day

& four days ago I went on a bender & what the fuck, nothing was really wrong.

NO REASON. WHY?

nothing I don't normally deal w/

the hole in my chest...

the shake in my hands...

even rats will...

...through December

through a warm winter rain

on a blue gray December...

sitting beneath the lamp post...



In my adult life I have been attaching my self to two kinds of people

those who help & those who make me feel better

A psychological thought is that people in a bad state will seek out those who are worse off to make looking in the mirror easier.

It�s easier to deny what you see when the guy behind you worse off

& Two years ago, my best friend was some guy I can't remember

a drug dealer an alcoholic, pot smoking girlfriendless looser. He didn't smoke cigarettes, but he smoked everything else & he made me feel good.

when you're down

looking in the mirror is easier when you're the people in the background are in worse shape than you.

Those who help have usually been people I grew to resent.

A girlfriend who forbid me to see my facilitator friends.

Those who gave me an excuse to drink to smoke to die,

Michelle ruled me w/ an iron fist.

I stopped going out, I stopped drinking, three years w/ only minor binges & that was something

not even one car accident

no DUI's & I didn't die like four other of my friends & I should have

been grateful then

I am now

but I don�t have friends like either of them now

that doesn�t work now

I listen to myself &

the hole in my chest is growing

the shake showing

& even rats...



After Sally I smoked myself into an eight month stupor

Last Month Dave took me for a walk.

I said I didn't feel good.

Actually I didn't feel like being sober

Walking in the cold air, I said I wanted a drink. I wanted a drink

I needed a drink

a drink!

a drink!!

I need a fucking drink!!!

w/ a bottle in my pocket

on a blue black gray December night

I walk...

& the feeling I start to fight

to fight

to fight

and I don�t quite believe it...



the hole in my chest is growing

the shake in my hands is showing

& I need to fight

need to fight

need to FIGHT IT OFF

& every time I try to fill

fill it up

fill it in

take this hole & fill it in

it�s growing

growing

It�s growing

I start knowing

I have a problem.

I have a problem!

I have a problem



as I�m sitting beneath the lamp post light

on a blue black gray December night

Walking through December w/ a bottle in my pocket

Reachin in to pull it out but I pulled out a locket

I flipped @ cracked the glass staring @ your face

I flipped & tilted back & felt a damn disgrace



�� new old this that ��
            














Since Feb 2001





Long time no update. - 12.19.09

Clinton or Obama? - 2007-10-04

Two workshop Providence paid gig - looking for instructor - 2007-10-03

Big brother - 2007-09-26

Favorites - 2007-08-30