�� new old this that ��

2001-07-07.1:02 p.m.

Ahhh Saturday.

For those of you who have no idea what poetry Slams are and what the National Poetry Slam is, this entry may suck�

So bite me.

Bite me then go to:

The National Poetry Slam site
Poetry Slam Incorporated
Slam Nation the Documentary

and bite me again.



Today Jen and I were supposed to go to Taylor Mali's other home in Connecticut for a get together with a bunch of poets from New York, but sadly we can't go.

For weeks now Jen and I have been trying to motivate ourselves to finish duplicating a family photo album from the 30's and now that my Mother needs it tomorrow, we have to stay in today, kick procrastination's ass and just get it done. Add that to the hundred other things I have going on and the 3 or 4 other things I need to finish this weekend and you get me stuck in Providence all weekend.

Joy.



Thursday night was the monthly Providence Poetry Slam. This month it was a team slam. Team Providence verses Worcester, MA verses Boston Cantab MA verses Boston Lizard Lounge, Ma.

Providence won, Worcester came in second by .5 points, Lizard Lounge and the Cantab came in 3rd and 4th.

It was a really good slam, except no one got naked on stage this time, there were no drunks heckling the performers and I had Ray Davey guest host so I could be with my team and just coach them. Of course I didn't get to do much coaching because we needed someone to keep score of the bout and for some stupid reasons I ended up having to do it.

I was really proud of the way my team performed - especially since I instructed them to not use their best poems. They needed the practice with their other work.



Last night the slam team had a gig in Worcester at a coffee shop called Cool Beans. I like that place, but it's a bit loud and distracting. Of course loud and distracting is good for the team. They didn't hold a team slam, they ran it as an individual slam and made everyone compete against each other. All of my team made the cut into the second round and two of the team - Mike and Alixa - made the cut into the third round. Alixa ended up going against Craig Nelson in the last round.

Craig won.

Of course Craig got the two 30's of the night. Damn him. For those of you who don't know, a 30 is a perfect score. I don't know how he does it - especially while he is reading from the page instead of performing his work sans page - and I hate him for it.

I'm just kidding. He's a friend.



I gave the team tomorrow off from practice because this point I'm really sick of looking at their poetic asses.

*cough*

I mean, they performed so well Thursday and Friday they deserve a day off.

I may however squeeze David in for a private practice session today and squeeze Jared in for one tommorow�

At this point we're really down to getting the multi voice work completed, so I have a good feeling about this team. They should really have a decent showing at Nationals.



Jen is out running some errands and reportedly coming back with Dunken Doughnuts coffee for me.

Soon life will be good.



Jen just came back with bagels and coffee, so I muckled her in thanks.

Time to caffeinate.



�� new old this that ��
            














Since Feb 2001





Long time no update. - 12.19.09

Clinton or Obama? - 2007-10-04

Two workshop Providence paid gig - looking for instructor - 2007-10-03

Big brother - 2007-09-26

Favorites - 2007-08-30