�� new old this that ��

11.14.01.11:40 pm

� Answers �

Yeah Yeah, I'm late. I went to work this morning, stayed for about 2 hours then went home sick. I was going to write this column when I woke up from my nap but my nap lasted 6 hours and then I had to run out to help run this Environmental Poetry Slam dealing with Ecology and a Sustainable Future...

The show went great by the way, it was such fun.

So here I am now. As I am every Wednesday and...

if you need advice or need the answer to something, click on any of the � advice links on this site and ask anything you would like.



ask johnpowers


---------------
name: m0ok
email: [email protected]
url: http://m0ok.diaryland.com
question:
Lord Powers, is there a secret formula for happiness?
answer:
Money, God and or Therapy

You choose.
---------------
name: Piper
email: [email protected]
url: http://white-rook.diaryland.com
question:
If you had to use one utensil for the rest of your life, what would it be- a fork or a spoon?
answer:
I would use a spoon because I like soup. For what a fork is used, I could always use my hands. If I had to eat soup with my hands it would just slip through my fingers

and that would make me sad

and sticky.


---------------
name: staci
email: [email protected]
url: http://fatbuddha.diaryland.com
question:
a couple questions that are on my mind - why does a radio get better reception when you put your hand over the antenna ? are there gonna be any more NEW episodes of the chris wylde show ? what religion is daron malakian (system of a down) ?
answer:
Comedy Central only ordered 10 episodes of Chris Wylde... and I would be surprised if they order more. Not offense to Chris Wylde... I've just seen the ratings and that makes me think they aren't getting too Wylde over Chris.

Daron Malakian of System of a Down is Armenian. As is most of the band I believe, and since the national religion of Armenia is actually Christianity (Armenia was the first country to adopt Christianity as their national religion about 1700 years ago) chances are he was brought up catholic.

You get better radio reception when you put your hand on an antenna because your hand acts as a conductor - thus extending the length of the antenna.


---------------
name: rachel
email:
url: http://protoplast.diaryland.com
question:
reading your most recent questions i decided to procrastinate my life further with asking you the following to help you further procrastinate anything else worthwhile in your life. 1) I was watching West Wing this evening and was wondering why the penny is still in circulation? 2) Why is it true that "time is a river without banks?" and what gives Dove the right to include such a profound statement on a chocolate wrapper? 3) Why do so many people feel the need to ask strangers advice on their lives? It weirds me out sometimes. 4) When I come to NYC (probably the beginning of next year) will you and Jen come play with me? 5) Do you answer all the questions you get every week? 6) Why is my puppy calm all day and then sometime in the evening start spazzing out even after we've been on a long walk? 7) Is their some type of puppy ambesol? 8) I'm looking for a chocolate candy recipe requiring peppers--like in the movie Chocolat. I have looked in books and on the Internet and still nothing...any suggestions? 9) The girl is getting back together with her ex-girl. Should I tell the ex-girl that the girl was sleeping with someone else (she already speculates this)? Part 2 of Q9: Should I tell the "someone else" whom I've gotten to be very close with that I know about what happened? 10) Have you done something crazy, romantic, fun for your girlfriend lately (I got your back Jen)? 11) Why do significant others find vibrators so threatening? Do/Would you? o.k. that's enough...for now... ;-)
answer:
1) Why the penny is still in circulation?

Because people are opposed to change (no pun intended), stores will always want to sell things for 5.99, and because of state sales tax laws these odd numbers for costs will always be coming up - no matter what stores price their goods.

2) Why is it true that "time is a river without banks?" and what gives Dove the right to include such a profound statement on a chocolate wrapper?

Dove is marketed by shameless hell spawn people - marketing execs. They have no shame. Time is a river without banks because bankers do not like wet money.

3) Why do so many people feel the need to ask strangers advice on their lives?

Because if you do not have the answers, it is better to get the answer from an impartial source - not someone they know who might not give it to them straight.

4) When I come to NYC (probably the beginning of next year) will you and Jen come play with me?

Sure. We have a lot of friends in Manhattan, we could make a long weekend of it.

5) Do you answer all the questions you get every week?

Yes.

6) Why is my puppy calm all day and then sometime in the evening start spazzing out even after we've been on a long walk?

Because he has a lot of pent up energy and it is his way of letting it all loose. Normally animals roam all day long and burn energy constantly, if he is sleeping a lot because you're not there, he has to get it out. He misses you and is excited. You need to walk him longer if you want him completely tired out.

7) Is their some type of puppy ambesol?

Yes, but I can't remember off hand what it is. Though I wouldn't use the human type.

8) I'm looking for a chocolate candy recipe requiring peppers--like in the movie Chocolat. I have looked in books and on the Internet and still nothing...any suggestions?

I found lots of recipes for Dr. Pepper Chocolates...

however if you go to this page, there is a Chocolate Cayenne Truffles.

9) The girl is getting back together with her ex-girl. Should I tell the ex-girl that the girl was sleeping with someone else (she already speculates this)? Part 2 of Q9: Should I tell the "someone else" whom I've gotten to be very close with that I know about what happened?

I'd stay out of it. But that's just my hunch.

10) Have you done something crazy, romantic, fun for your girlfriend lately (I got your back Jen)?

Yes, I fixed her computer... Umm. Wait. No, but thanks for the reminder.

11) Why do significant others find vibrators so threatening? Do/Would you?

Nah. I don't. I think it's a fear of being replaced and not needed. Just remind them that a person doesn't need batteries.


---------------
name: scented rose
email:
url: http://scentedrose.diaryland.com/
question:
I met someone online 3 years ago. I lied to him the first half hour that I spoke to him because I had no intentions of ever speaking to him again. Whenever 2 weeks passed and I couldn't stop myself from talking to him I came clean. After much deliberation he forgave me and asked me never to lie to him again.

In the years that followed he and I became very close. We were just starting to talk about meeting and perhaps making a go of a relationship. I think I got scared of losing him or felt that I wasn't good enough and I lied to him about my recent weight loss saying it was a larger weight loss than what it was. I did in fact lose 2 sizes but not the significant loss I claimed to him. I told the lie in the heat of an argument. 2 weeks later I realized it was wrong to leave the lie there. I went to him and confessed. He seemed to take it well for 2 days and then he freaked out telling me that he never wanted to live with a liar and that it was never going to happen between he and I.

Now..he does speak to me but its on a very shallow level and very strained on my side because I have strong feelings for him. After all I was going to move halfway across the country to be with him. I was the one leaving my life for one with him.

At this point he and I no longer do the daily email and where we used to have 25 page long chats nightly...he is courteous and reserved.

What's the best thing for me to do now? He's an amazing person and I am the one that was wrong to have lied to him. He told me that there was no reason for me to feel that I had to lie to be a part of his life. He's right. I am just insecure about my appearance as I am currently struggling to get the girl back that I used to be.

Anything you have to offer would be greatly appreciated. Thank you.
answer:
I'd say you should tell him what you told me. Explain how you're insecure, etc...

On-Line relationships are built entirely on trust. There are no visual clues or checking up on a person the way there is with a traditional relationship - that is why lying is such an issue.

All you can do is to try and slowly rebuild the bond between you two. Sadly, you may not know everything that is going on with this person either - and he could be using the lying as an excuse.

Everyone does lie to some degree however and if he is freaking out about this so badly, then there may be other issues involved.


---------------
name: Interview
email:
url: http://interview.diaryland.com
question:
Where is the completed interview? :) The email address you supplied: [email protected] - should contain some questions.

Regards, Gingerbug
answer:
I'm working on it. I've been so burnt out lately it's hard to describe my burnt out... ness.

I'll get interviewed soon, I promise.


---------------


and now, I shall pass out.



�� new old this that ��
            














Since Feb 2001





Long time no update. - 12.19.09

Clinton or Obama? - 2007-10-04

Two workshop Providence paid gig - looking for instructor - 2007-10-03

Big brother - 2007-09-26

Favorites - 2007-08-30