�� new old this that ��

2001-03-30.986000426

The Chicago trip and the Mansion

No entry from me yesterday. BOOO johnpowers BOOO

Thank you to whomever said to diaryland that I sent them when they signed up for a gold membership. You�ll have to tell me who you are so I can make good on my promise to write you a poem because diaryland doesn�t tell you who put you down as a referral.

OK?

Thanks!

Yesterday� yesterday� I woke up at 6am to take a 7am train to NYC.

Why is it everyone on the train from Providence to New York uses those annoying song�s for their ringing noise. It�s never a normal ring, it�s always the Bach or the �da da da dunt da da CHARGE for the answer button. The 18th overture is just silly when it is used to remind you to answer the damn phone.

Ummm lower your voice? Now? Don�t talk for and hour and a half � LOUDLY? I mean c�mon think of sitting in a room with a friend of yours and having to listen to them talk to someone for a � hour. Yeah, annoying.

There was this woman talking to a man � or should I say listening to him - no cell phone this time � and all she said for the entire conversation was this:

�Ya ya ya ya uh huh ya ya, gigglelaugh�

�So I was walking down the street and I got gum on my shoe and didn�t realize and then I stepped on a dollar, and I�m walking with a bill on my foot and I didn�t even know��

�Ya ya ya ya uh huh ya ya, gigglelaugh� � said by the woman as the man was talking.

It got to the point where I could predict when the gigglelaugh was going to occur.

�wait for it, wait for it, wait for it, NOW�

gigglelaugh

Annoyance



I got off the train at 10:15 and I was supposed to meet Cristin where she works at noon, so I can�t believe I did this, I went and sat in a Starfucks for a while. Yep. Starfucks, johnpowers, sitting, buying their products. I�m such a sell out, but in my defense I couldn�t find an open caf� anywhere and I didn�t want to walk around forever.

After the coffee shop chain hell, I called her and she needed a little more time to finish up, so I sat in Bryant park and read a book I had with me for a while.



Cristin and I then met and took the subway to Queens and ate at Neptune�s � the best diner in all of Queens. After that, we hoped on a bus to the airport. Air Tran airlines sucks ass btw. They are Morons.



We get to the ticket counter because I need to redeem my electronic ticket. I get to the counter, they enter my name, the computer system crashes. Yep. Fine before me. Completely down at the sight of my name.

After 45 minutes in line and 100 more people behind me, they have to revert to some paper based system because no one could fix it. So the planes late. They have to go to general seating, and neither of us even has a boarding pass.

When we got to the gate, all they asked is if the counter had taken our names and THEY JUST LET US ON THE PLANE WITH NO ID CHECK OR ANYTHING! I could have been a terrorist I tell you. I could have hijacked the plane, made it take me to Tahitti to drop me off in a warm place, and they would never have known it was me! Heh.

We had a connection in Pitsburg. The flight had 5 free seats and the system was still down � thanks to it�s aversion to my name � and they had to find a place for us to sit. First they had Cristin and I get off the plane and wait, then they had us get back on and take any seat � but everyone else had seats � so we ended up chillin with the flight attendant in the very back of the plane until everyone else was seated. Morons.



We grab a taxi after landing about 7:30 pm � an hour late. Head right to the club where we�re performing. I�m tired as hell and read horribly. Oh well, I�d been travelling for 12 � hours, I have my excuse. Cristin kicked ass. Amazing and I don�t know how she did it. She beat Talaam Acey and Regie Gibson and won the whole slam - after practically stepping off the plane. Amazing.

I only had three beers after I was done performing because I knew I wouldn�t be able to handle any more than that as I was so beat.



After the show, Taylor Mali and I (no I didn�t name my cat after him) went back to where we were staying � talked a bit � and then I crashed out. Hard. Sleep� a chance to dream� a chance to fix my tired ass self on freshly pressed linen sheets.



I�m now staying at a mansion in Chicago. A 40 room house in the middle of the city. Taylor Mali , an amazing poet � has friends (the Langs) who own this house. They�re away on vacation. Now this house is gorgeous to say the least. I have my own room with my own walk in closet and my own full bathroom. Clara, the woman of the house, left us two cases of designer beer and a case of water and a note saying � have a great time. I have my own key for jimminy sakes. Currently I�m on their DSL. This place reminds me of my Aunt and Uncles (The Menzone�s) but a little bigger and not in New Port. Very nice. Very beautiful.

Taylor and I woke up, he had made coffee, we went out to breakfast at a diner � and then to the owners of the house�s racquet club. We just wanted to shower there and use the sauna. The sauna was great for me - I sweated out a whole lot of junk from my system. I also now smell very different as I used different after shave and hair and skin products than usual. I like it, it�s almost as if I went to the salon, but it was free.



Now we get back to where I am currently. Typing what I did, and there you have it. I�m still sore from all the sitting yesterday, but I�ll be better soon.

For 5:30 Taylor and I have dinner at a friends and then it�s back to the poets and the poetic meet and greet get together at the Mad Bar club.

Ray should be getting here soon as well.

I�ll probably update with something a little more interesting later on tonight of tomorrow.



oh, this house�s cat is gray on white and afraid of me. How silly.



�� new old this that ��
            














Since Feb 2001





Long time no update. - 12.19.09

Clinton or Obama? - 2007-10-04

Two workshop Providence paid gig - looking for instructor - 2007-10-03

Big brother - 2007-09-26

Favorites - 2007-08-30