�� new old this that ��

2001-04-02.12:59 p.m.

my grandfather�s watch

We do not wear watches and keep our clocks running for what you might expect. We hold time on our wrists not that we may remember time, but that we might forget it now and then for a moment and not spend all our days trying to conquer it

�two minutes in the Monday morning� �an hour on Saturday afternoon�

and we can never conquer it � time that is� no battle is ever won. All battlefields only reveal folly and despair, and victory is an illusion of philosophers and fools.

Life is a battlefield in the war against death and counting the seconds as it wages is no way to fight. Forgetting them is a much better proposition, so be thankful for watches

Be thankful for the moments you�ve forgotten time and found yourself late, I am - although I rarely - am

I�ve been wearing a watch since I was 5 years old. My first watch was a tiny cub scout watch � black band � yellow face, a wolf cub logo, and glow in the dark inlets on the hands. It ran on a spring � no batteries. I was 5 in 1976�

I still have it in my dresser

Since I was 14 I�ve been wearing the same watch � a Benrus series #7026. Now I know nothing about this watch other than it was my grandfather�s, he wore it at least as early as the 70�s and it was given to me by my grandmother when my grandfather died in 1986. This has been the main watch I�ve worn since

It�s self winding � meaning no batteries, just a cam inside that winds the spring every time your wrist moves. The crystal has been replaced, the crown replaced, and a new band put on it, but it�s still my grandfather�s watch

I look at this old and probably cheap timepiece on my wrist and think of him. It�s a reminder of what I�ve lost, how much I miss him, and all the hours � minutes � seconds he spent living his life � as I am now � really not worrying too much about the time, but showing up on it � anyway



�� new old this that ��
            














Since Feb 2001





Long time no update. - 12.19.09

Clinton or Obama? - 2007-10-04

Two workshop Providence paid gig - looking for instructor - 2007-10-03

Big brother - 2007-09-26

Favorites - 2007-08-30