�� new old this that ��

2001-04-09.12:00 p.m.

Chandler

Two summers ago I was walking down the road behind my old apartment on South Court Street. That house was a trip � built in 1776, it was painted bright pink. Apart from electric lights, three and a half electric sockets, and plumbing, it was the same as it was in the early 1800�s� even down to the paint and dust that never seemed to vacuum away.

Now usually, I mind my own business, but I found a boy lying on the side of the road

Pratt Street

just below Prospect Park

a small park - with a forty foot statue of Roger Williams - overlooking the whole cityscape & I wonder if old Roger saw that pair of feet sticking in the road & the rest of him crumpled on the side walk.

When I stopped a lady was dialing 911 on her cell phone, Hell I don't blame her - a kid lookin dead on a back alley street

but I told her to hold on, he was a friend of mine, I risked the lie

but a person lying on the side of the road in the college area of the city with dark hair Could be a friend of mine or even Jason

So I put my hand on him and I shook him and I said "Jason, Jason you all right?" & he slurred "yeah, yeah, but my names Chandler" & it turns out he wasn't dead after all or Jason or a friend of mine just a stranger taking a rest and I did lie after all

So the lady takes off in a red SUV & I help Chandler sit on the wall on the side of the road

he musta weighed a hundred pounds - real light - we share a smoke & he gets out - he has no job - he used to work at the Hot Club

He used to go to school

somehow he lost his belt - he couldn't find his wallet & I never did find out what he was on or where he lived

& yeah, I shoulda bought him a coffee

but I had no money

gave him a ride

but I had no gas

let the lady call a cop

but I hate to see a kid spend the night in jail

I coulda took him home but I really didn't care that much

Yeah, I shoulda told him if his head were in the street instead of his legs - that lady with the phone didn't block the road he'd be dead like a lotta people his age

The city coulda swallowed him up & if this was where I came from, there'd be a white cross where he was.

back home, there are no side walks, he'd have his own car because living there is cheap & he'd be curled around a tree

his clothes would be hanging from the branches

his friends would be laying down flowers at the base of a torn up bark-less trunk

splinters

Here in Providence all you'll get is rolled for change, arrested, shot...

Old Roger could have reached down & made him lost forever

Just like anywhere else...

Instead he got found by a pseudo samaritan walkin below the park & all I gave him was a camel

an hour of watchin

small talk he won't remember

& When he finnaly straitened up enough to walk off, I mumbled 'lucky bastard' & walked myself home

Like I said I mind my own business.



�� new old this that ��
            














Since Feb 2001





Long time no update. - 12.19.09

Clinton or Obama? - 2007-10-04

Two workshop Providence paid gig - looking for instructor - 2007-10-03

Big brother - 2007-09-26

Favorites - 2007-08-30