�� new old this that ��

2001-07-19.10:46 a.m.

The area-one concert



Attention citizens of New England!! Would every living, breathing, baseball cap and or halter top wearing example of why the entire world looks down upon the United States please purchase an 80 dollar Ticket to the Boston Tweeter Center and prove the entire world correct in the assumption that we are indeed giant planetary life sucking megalomaniac machines?

"Thanks"

"Thanks for showing up guys."

"Thanks for showing up to the concert where you paid money to get in here, so you can sit in any seat you want and bitch at everyone who tells you to move - and still you come back - again and again and again. You can dance next to no other row of seats but my own - the whole system is against you - just to ruin your time because it won't let you totally ruin everyone else�s."

Fuckers.

So the concert was fun.

I had a good time at the Moby show, actually I loved the Moby show, I was just too tired to dance, and I can't dance, but I loved hearing and seeing how he translated his studio work into a live show.

I'm happy to have seen him.

Now the rest of the show...

Hrmm.

Nelly Furtado sucked live at that huge venue. She'd probably be really cool in a small close up setting.

The Roots, I liked. They're a hip hop band and what'shisname's beat box was insane! Totally insane beat box, to the point he had to be using a voice modulator, because no human should be able to make those noises.

Incubus was 'ehh' because I'm often turned off by 'radio' bands. I've been listening to the radio consistently since I was 13, I'm 29 now... I've been listening to the radio for 16 years and you can tell a band that should just do well in the radio market. Well, that�s how I feel about Incubus, but they did have talent, the lead singer put on a bra someone threw at him, and his tattoo was nothing to write home about... but I thoroughly enjoyed a few of thier songs until 20 of the Outkast fans invaded my aisle. Read below.

Outkast - pissed the hell out of me. Not because of the music, although I don't like hard core rap (I prefer intellectual hip hop with dope polysyllabic rhyme schemes instead of "don't make me drop the other shoe, I'll pop your mom the kangaroo, then rip you out of that pouch - till you say ouch... HUH!") but because of the fans. It was as if every stereotypical frat boy 'chicken head' whose older brother used to thrash and mosh to the Mighty Mighty Bostones decided *this* was the band to loose their own 2001 aisle dance mosh madness I'm insane because of all the alcohol, sweat and pent up testosterone (induced by their sexual frustration over 16 year old girls in rave pants, halter tops, clearly phallic glow sticks and iridescent body glitter, who would never in their right minds give it up to them.)

I had to go get a beer and some fresh air soon after some woman started screaming obscenities in my face because I wasn't up bouncing and dancing.

Jen almost got into a fist fight with some tan Vogue wanna be pretty woman with short short grass stained ass shorts on after she stood on her chair and started shaking her grass ass in Jen's and my face. Actually I would have like to see Jen send the woman flying 3 rows down, but her boy friend was kinda huge...

The Second Stage. I did not get to see The Innovators, Rinocerose, Carl Cox, The Orb, or Paul Oakenfold because the Ford Focus Rave Tent (anyone see the irony in what they named the 'Rave' tent?) was chock full to capacity almost the entire time, and I can't dance.



Apart from actually seeing Moby, the highlights of the night were seeing my cousin who I haven�t seen in years - turns out she works in the medical tent there - and making it out of the parking lot in about 25 minutes.

Still, I�m glad I went because it was nice to spend a day with Jen away from the house, and hey it gave me some interesting material to bitch about, errr, I mean write about.

Oh, one last thing, during Incubus, I saw a guy

stop

right next to me

pull out a stick of Right Guard for Men Deoderant

and apply it to his pits while he was standing in the middle of the aisle in front of over 10,000 people.


Now that's just not normal

and I would guess indicative of many parts of the concert, but not all.

That and I can't dance.



�� new old this that ��
            














Since Feb 2001





Long time no update. - 12.19.09

Clinton or Obama? - 2007-10-04

Two workshop Providence paid gig - looking for instructor - 2007-10-03

Big brother - 2007-09-26

Favorites - 2007-08-30