�� new old this that ��

2001-06-12.11:09 a.m.

1 day until Poetry Slam Hell

I was on the phone all morning with a tech support guy from England. He was a 'chatty' tech support guy, which is fine, being on the phone all day tends to get real boring fast and for some people having a friendly chatty tech guy trying to figure out why your international banking app sucks ass is fine by them - even enjoyable,

All it did for me was make me want to go back to England.

The d00d was shocked that it took about a week to drive across the country from Rhode Island to Seattle. Shocked.

Could this be why parts of the world think of Americans as a resource guzzling capitalistic blood thirsty people:

because they think we all live in an area the size of Pennsylvania?

Someday I will write about my 'Ugly American' theory, but I HAVE THINGS TO DO!

...like de-linting the cat

...like figuring out why my tub drain is somehow... ummm... thicker

...like getting to work before I'm living in a van down by the river!



So...

Tomorrow the Providence Slam Team's season officially begins

with me at it's head

whipping their sorry poetic skills into shape

actually, they're all damn good to begin with so my job is going to be easier than say... when I was on the team... because I sucked

[I had this poem where I beat myself in the chest. I think I thought I was being symbolic and simulating a heart beating REALLY heavily, but all I was doing was confusing the audience and giving myself bruises]

*sigh*

I suck.

I'm no good.

I have the baggy underwear in a tighty whitey world.

*cough*

Tomorrow we just have the annual meeting where we lay down all the rules and attempt to convey the degree of seriousness we traditionally take towards the National Poetry Slam. "We have fun, but we work hard, and don't even think about fucking with me."

After THE MEETING (dun dun daaa music plays) the real work begins - practices two days a week, gigs, regional performances.

Then by July 31st I'll be in Seattle and that should rock in a hopefully not soaked with constant rain way... we'll see.



I changed the guest book to a message board. It even has chat rooms.

You can leave a message without loging into it, but you have to log in to chat... and of course I can't chat from work because here they only let me email and browse the net through a data pipeline the thickness and complexity of a crazy straw.

You can find all of the old guest book entries there as well.

Well not much else is new, so adios... and leave me messages, no one leaves me messages anymore.

*sniff*



�� new old this that ��
            














Since Feb 2001





Long time no update. - 12.19.09

Clinton or Obama? - 2007-10-04

Two workshop Providence paid gig - looking for instructor - 2007-10-03

Big brother - 2007-09-26

Favorites - 2007-08-30