�� new old this that ��

11.07.01.12:45 pm

� Answers �

If you need advice or need the answer to something, click on any of the � advice links on this site and ask anything you would like.


---------------
name: Piper
email: [email protected]
url: http://white-rook.diaryland.com
question:
John Powers, the all-knowing one! ::cheers::

What exactly is Vanilla Ice doing these days? I admit, I taped his Behind The Music episode on VH-1, but it is dated, even now. I am in withdrawal of Mr. Rob Van Winkle.

Oh yes, and can you please, please tell me- *what* the *hell* does quixotic mean?!?! I cannot find a coherent definition that does not insult my intelligence. Thanks ever so much.

answer:
Mr. Ice Ice Baby has found The Lord Jesus Christ.

"God has blessed me in more ways than one," Ice reportedly has said. "I found God when I found myself on the floor with friends dumping cold water on me. I overdosed one night and woke up the next day and found God," he said. It's not unlike the kind of story that death row prisoners tell. And to hear Ice tell it, the fame, fortune and bright lights began to feel like a death sentence.

These days, though, he's turned things around and is busy making up for lost time, he said, adding that he recently got a leaf tattooed on his belly to signify that he is "turning over a new leaf." It began last year with one and two shows a week, slowly building up to three and four shows in 1,500-seat theaters in places such as Omaha, Neb., and Denton, Texas, the kind of places where 15-year-old girls used to stick a Vanilla Ice sticker on their school notebooks back in the blond rapper's heyday.

His last scheduled tour date I could find was on 10-5-2001 in Springfield VA.

quix�ot�ic (kwk-stk) also quix�ot�i�cal (--kl)
adj.
Caught up in the romance of noble deeds and the pursuit of unreachable goals; idealistic without regard to practicality.
Capricious; impulsive: "At worst his scruples must have been quixotic, not malicious" (Louis Auchincloss).

It means that a person has good intentions but the things they are trying to do happen to not be possible for that person to actually ever attain. If I wanted to bring art to the children of the world by creating my own museum to rival the Luve, I'd be considered quixotic.


---------------
name: Karyn
email: [email protected]
url: http://
question:
Dear Mr Powers: How does one get over a 7 year relationship? Been keeping myself busy yet I find myself slipping into a depression...not good at all. Any advice would be much appreciated. Thank you. PS: U do good work with this site.

answer:
7 years is a long time. It's a major change to have that end - be it sudden or seen coming for a long time.

How do you get over it? You don't. That relationship will always be a part of who you are.

You should ask how to let the hurt and sense of loss not feel so bad. Honestly time will take care of most of it - as long as you continue to keep yourself busy, explore new opportunities - things that you wouldn't have done because you were in that relationship.

Take this as an opportunity to do the things you've been meaning to. Expect to be sad and depressed for a while - it's natural. Just keep in mind if you start to get so depressed that you are having thoughts of ending your existence or you haven't left your house for a month, that you may then need to talk to a professional.

Of course, you could always just go out and get laid.


---------------
name: kerykes
email:
url: http://kerykes.diaryland.com
question:
Several weeks ago, I left my pretty little office at a failed tech company to work in a cube. People around me constantly have phone conversations in which they talk about their dying mothers, their evil ex-husbands, and a score of other generally inappropriate work topics. Some people acknowledge and even contribute to these conversations; others just keep working. Is there any sort of official etiquette for people who work in cubicles re: when one should actually acknowledge hearing vs. when one should desperately feign complete and utter deafness?

answer:
If you're new at a company, you should definitely feign deafness. It takes a long time to become accustomed to a work place culture, and most people assume their cubes are actually Cones of Silence anyway.

For now, I suggest plugging head phones into your CD ROM drive head phone jack and listening to your favorite tunes instead of the monotonous drone of your office workers talking about their children's bowl movements.

It worked for me.


---------------
name: liz
email: [email protected]
url: http://tryangle.diaryland.com
question:
dear mr powers. i really kinda am messed up i think. see, last saturday (i think the 27th) there was a lock in at my school (which rocks.) a graduate named sean who is 21 came by, pissed drunk, back where all the smokers were. i dont smoke but i was with them. and to make a long story short we hit off (very well) *AFTER* he was pretty sober. there was no alcohol @ the lockin. so he was there drunk but got better. and so i ended up NOT sleeping with him, but we made out for pretty long time.

okay.

and now since sean has graduated my school, he just comes and visits me like every other day.

but since i am a very indecisicve person, i like like four other guys. and i really dont know what i am doing. i dont have a boyfriend. i rarely am with anyoe (i m a virgin) and i have been getting shit from people about what i did. cause im 16 and hes 21. its almost gone now, but i dont know what to say next time it comes up. and sean wants me to go places /w him. which i mean is a reasonable request, but since my parents do not want their little daughter girl out in the big bad world all by herself, and since sean drinks and smokes, im rather hesitent to mix the two. AND as far as they know ive never even kissed anyone. im rather protected. and i hate it.

really, i wanted to tell someone about this, and whatever advice you can give is greatly apreciated. sorry this is so long. >liz

answer:
It sounds to me as if dating him or continuing to see him would be too much pressure for you to deal with and still have fun.

At 21 he probably wants to get down and create the two backed, four armed, four legged monster, and if you're just not ready to have sexual relations, then that's fine, except you might not want to deal with rabid attempts of devirginization on his part.

The fact that he drinks could make persuading him to cool down even more difficult.

I suggest you be honest with the dude up front. Let him know about the situation, tell him about your concerns, and take it from there.

Making out with someone is in no way a signed contract that you have to continue a relationship with them in the future - as long as you're honest about it.


---------------
name: Slush
email: [email protected]
url: http://slushfile.diaryland.com
question:
Okay, not to stretch out the Badsnake lesbian dilemma...but what do YOU think? Do you think a lesbian is NOT a lesbian if she uses a strap-on with her girlfriend? So, from a straight male perspective, do you think lesbians who use fake cocks actually bisexuals ??

answer:
Despising peni (plural of penis) and all phallic shaped objects is not a requirement of lesbianism.

Preferring a dildo does not automatically categorize a lesbian woman as bisexual, because sexual methods and positions have no bearing on sexuality. Partner preference does.

What is the difference between fingers and a dildo? What is the difference between a tongue and a dildo? Who's tongue, who's fingers, and who's holding the dildo are the questions, not if they're male shaped fingers, female shaped tongues, or whatnot.

If a woman loves a man who had a horrible accident and no longer has a penis, so he gives her sexual pleasure with a 12 inch rubber substitute, does that make him gay? Of course not.

All that is needed to answer your question is who is using what on whom... and honestly we spend too much time worrying about what goes on between consenting adults in this world.


---------------
name: Robin
email:
url: http://astasis.diaryland.com
question:
John, My girlfriend has a cat who will eat any plant we put out. He's already killed my beloved jade plant. Are there any plants that perhaps taste HORRIBLE to cats but do not make them sick? I don't want prickly plants, so cacti are out.

Thanks.

answer:
The problem is that many plants are toxic to cats. Other plants that are not toxic produce flowers that are.

You should go to a Pet Depot type store and purchase a bottle of Haarts Boundary. It's cat repellant spray that your cat will avoid because it probably smells like kittens being eaten or something horrible like that... anyway, what matters is that it works. I spray my plants and their surrounding area with the stuff and my cat has stopped eating the things. Previously nothing else worked.
---------------
name: the engine
email:
url: http://esc8engn.diaryland.com
question:
if i you post a question of mine on next week's q/a forum, will it result in more hits to my diaryland website? if yes, about how many hits? and if i do get those hits, will it make me feel like a more worthwhile human being? or will the elation be temporary and hollow?

answer:
Yes, you will suddenly go from 10 hits a day to 200 if you post a questions.

If you become a member of the posse, you will also get more hits per day - about 35 percent more in fact.

Also, listing johnpowers in your favorite diary's section with a description of 'he rules, he rocks, read him everyday' tend to increase your hits per day by at least 40 percent.

Of course you will feel like a more worthwhile human being if you get more hits.

LIFE IS ALL ABOUT YOUR WEBCOUNTER!

*Ahem*

I mean... no.


---------------
name: Birdie
email:
url: http://
question:
I can't believe I'm doing this... Ok, my question, although I already know the answer, I'm just hoping you disagree with me.

See, this is the deal. I've fallen in love with someone. Really in love with someone... I'm 21 and have never been this nuts about anyone before. He's one of my really close friends, the only thing is that he has a girlfriend. I know it sound all simple right? Stay away from him, he's taken. I KNOW that, and I would never persue ANY guy with a girlfriend, it's just htat he makes it so hard. He always talks to me about how unhappy he is with her, he's flirty, and we grown closer over the past few weeks. A mutual friend of ours commited suicide, and he was really there for me. I think this has caused me to get even closer to him...I don't know. It's just that I'm going crazy, and every time he tells me I'm beautiful, or wants to hang out, a little piece of my heart breaks...I don't think I can do it anymore...but I don't want to loose him.

Signed
Pathetic

answer:
I disagree with you.

You're only hope it to discuss it with him. Perhaps he doesn't think you like him in that way and hasn't broken up with his girlfriend because he doesn't have much of a reason to.

Ask him how he feels about you. If you get the answer you want - then reveal your feelings and the discuss what you are going to do about it.

If you find out he only wants you as a friend, then you can decide if you want to continue the friendship at all. If it's too hard to handle then you have to right to take a break from him for a while.

Unless people talk about things openly, they are bound to have false starts and horrible miscommunications.

Good luck!


---------------
ps. Do you remember all of the money we donated to charities including the Red Cross after 9-11? Well, only $121 million has been given to families of victims from the Red Cross, in fact, the Red Cross diverted more than half of the $564 million Americans have donated to it's relief fund to other projects, including a telecommunications upgrade and the bolstering of the 'continuity' of local Red Cross chapters.

Freaking bastards.



�� new old this that ��
            














Since Feb 2001





Long time no update. - 12.19.09

Clinton or Obama? - 2007-10-04

Two workshop Providence paid gig - looking for instructor - 2007-10-03

Big brother - 2007-09-26

Favorites - 2007-08-30